Sweet Blackberry and Brandy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is AMAZING! We had it with cheesecake tonight and plan to have it with pancakes tomorrow morning. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is SO good. Too good, really. I added extra brandy because I liked the taste.. Oh, and I also added a little bit of vanilla extract. Over ice cream this is just amazing. It's good on pancakes, too. But ice cream? Oh man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is fantastic on ice cream. I didn't have brandy so I used bourbon. I also added 1/2 tsp more of bourbon at the end since most of it cooked off. It just added a slight bourbon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
WOW! We enjoyed this over Blackberry ripple ice cream one evening and cheesecake the next. SunsetInAZ is right about adding peppercorns. Even if you choose not to add them, you'll enjoy the sauce much more without the seeds, so be sure to strain the sauce after cooking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Yummy little sauce! And so easy too. I needed something quick this morning for breakfast, so I made the Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce on here plus this sauce. By starting with this sauce, I was able to time it perfectly so both sauce and pancakes made it to the table at the same time. I don't have bourbon (at least I don't think I do) so I just splashed a little bit of vanilla into the sauce as a sub. I did halve the sauce, bc I didn't have a lot of blackberries and there's only the two of us anyway. I'll maybe have bf put the rest over ice cream. So much better than storebought syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Husband and kids have already started asking me what else we can make to serve with this sauce! It is absolutely delicious! Fast, easy and just perfect. My berries were a little sour so I did add a little more sugar. Didn't have brandy so used Framboise in place of that. I just cant say enough about this recipe. It's that good. Thank you for sharing!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Ohhhh this was really amazing. The one true whiskey for me is Jack Daniels so I used that. I was looking at different berry recipes and only brought one container home as I thought this only needed one cup - consequently I used just over 1 cup of blackberries with a slighly rounded quarter cup of sugar in the whiskey, no cornstarch/water slurry to thicken. I did use closer to two tablespoons of Jack even with the quartering, only because I wanted distinct flavor even after cooking - that worked really well for us, I ended up going about 13 mins on the simmer and we both thought the sauce had a delicious hint of boozy flavor, nothing overwhelming. We do like our booze though, so that may be too much if you're not as familiar with it. As previously stated over vanilla ice cream this is phenomenal - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This sauce is delicious... no changes needed! We served it with Monte Cristo sandwiches on Christmas Day and everyone raved! Now my husband tries to find an excuse to put it on anything... shameless. Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
delicious and easy... great on ice cream, pancakes... my family always asks for this when we serve sausage balls for appetizers or breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great baseline recipe. I've never made it with brandy but it turns out just great. Start with the proportions listed, but from there you can easily eyeball it (adding more berries, cornstarch, and water until desired consistency). This also works great with STRAWBERRIES cut into fourths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States