Sweet Blackberry and Brandy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Yummy. My mom taught me a secret to berry and liquer/brandy sauces... Add 8 peppercorns before cooking. Strain out (mesh strainer or cheese cloth) seeds/peppercorns. This adds a great layer of flavor. Try it - you'll like it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
WOW! We enjoyed this over Blackberry ripple ice cream one evening and cheesecake the next. SunsetInAZ is right about adding peppercorns. Even if you choose not to add them, you'll enjoy the sauce much more without the seeds, so be sure to strain the sauce after cooking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Ohhhh this was really amazing. The one true whiskey for me is Jack Daniels so I used that. I was looking at different berry recipes and only brought one container home as I thought this only needed one cup - consequently I used just over 1 cup of blackberries with a slighly rounded quarter cup of sugar in the whiskey, no cornstarch/water slurry to thicken. I did use closer to two tablespoons of Jack even with the quartering, only because I wanted distinct flavor even after cooking - that worked really well for us, I ended up going about 13 mins on the simmer and we both thought the sauce had a delicious hint of boozy flavor, nothing overwhelming. We do like our booze though, so that may be too much if you're not as familiar with it. As previously stated over vanilla ice cream this is phenomenal - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is fantastic on ice cream. I didn't have brandy so I used bourbon. I also added 1/2 tsp more of bourbon at the end since most of it cooked off. It just added a slight bourbon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made this using 2 cups blueberries and 2 cups raspberries. I substituted rum for the brandy. It turned out extremely yummy! We served it over angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Beautiful addition to ice cream. I served this warm over ice cream for guests, and they thought it was great. It is easy and still elegant. I did strain the sauce, but then we still ended up eating the berries because they tasted so good. I used frozen berries (reducing water a tad) and they were still great. I can only imagine fresh would be exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I really did enjoy this recipe. It is the perfact balance of sweet and good black berries. I even used frozen berries and it was just as good. Yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is an excellent sauce but the seeds should be removed. Otherwise it is unpleasant to eat. Hold back a few blackberries to add to the sauce after it is strained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This sauce is delicious... no changes needed! We served it with Monte Cristo sandwiches on Christmas Day and everyone raved! Now my husband tries to find an excuse to put it on anything... shameless. Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is AMAZING! We had it with cheesecake tonight and plan to have it with pancakes tomorrow morning. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States