Sweet Blackberry and Brandy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is an excellent sauce but the seeds should be removed. Otherwise it is unpleasant to eat. Hold back a few blackberries to add to the sauce after it is strained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Wonderful! I made this and bought pound cake at the store, delivered to the church for their breakfast. Tasted delicious and so easy (just put sauce in a bowl with sign for them to spoon sauce over the pound cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Delicious and simple. Have to go pick more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Very nice. I didn't have any brandy, so I replaced it with vanilla. Great over cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Husband and kids have already started asking me what else we can make to serve with this sauce! It is absolutely delicious! Fast, easy and just perfect. My berries were a little sour so I did add a little more sugar. Didn't have brandy so used Framboise in place of that. I just cant say enough about this recipe. It's that good. Thank you for sharing!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This sauce is delicious... no changes needed! We served it with Monte Cristo sandwiches on Christmas Day and everyone raved! Now my husband tries to find an excuse to put it on anything... shameless. Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great baseline recipe. I've never made it with brandy but it turns out just great. Start with the proportions listed, but from there you can easily eyeball it (adding more berries, cornstarch, and water until desired consistency). This also works great with STRAWBERRIES cut into fourths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
delicious and easy... great on ice cream, pancakes... my family always asks for this when we serve sausage balls for appetizers or breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Ohhhh this was really amazing. The one true whiskey for me is Jack Daniels so I used that. I was looking at different berry recipes and only brought one container home as I thought this only needed one cup - consequently I used just over 1 cup of blackberries with a slighly rounded quarter cup of sugar in the whiskey, no cornstarch/water slurry to thicken. I did use closer to two tablespoons of Jack even with the quartering, only because I wanted distinct flavor even after cooking - that worked really well for us, I ended up going about 13 mins on the simmer and we both thought the sauce had a delicious hint of boozy flavor, nothing overwhelming. We do like our booze though, so that may be too much if you're not as familiar with it. As previously stated over vanilla ice cream this is phenomenal - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is SO good. Too good, really. I added extra brandy because I liked the taste.. Oh, and I also added a little bit of vanilla extract. Over ice cream this is just amazing. It's good on pancakes, too. But ice cream? Oh man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States