Sweet Bell Pepper Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is a solid, tasty recipe. I made only minor changes, using yellow, orange and red peppers and omitting the green and fresh basil in place of dried. It smelled so good as it simmered. I had one chicken cutlet I needed to cook so I cut it in strips and added it to the peppers to make a complete meal. Thanks, Joey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
pretty tasty :) nice change from spanish rice. I added shedded carrot to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I planned a simple seafood main dish with subtle seasoning for dinner and I wanted a rice side dish with some pizzazz and a little oomph to complement it. This was just what I had in mind. I loved the festive and vibrant color from the peppers, and the herbs (I used fresh basil, parsley and thyme, preferring their milder flavor to that of the oregano) gave it the punch of fresh flavor I was after. The addition of the wine was the perfect finishing touch. The bottom line? This is a perfect assembly of ingredients, taking the usual ho-hum side dish rice to something unique and special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
5 STARS! Tonight I was baking fish and looking for a different side dish. Hubby loves rice so I was pretty sure he would like this. I made the mistake of chopping the onions and peppers together so I stirred the peppers in with the onions from the start. It wasn't a problem. I didn't have any red peppers so when the dish was all finished I added a few seeded and diced grape tomatoes for color. I also enjoyed the taste of them in it. I used fresh basil from my garden. This was not only a beautiful dish, it was a very tasty one as well. I saw Hubby go back for thirds! There are no leftovers. Thank you Joey for sharing your recipe! It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This so easy to make and one of the best rice recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Go ahead an double it! Loved by the whole family including kids. Yummy for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
We love rice, and this one is very good. I used Arborio (Italian rice) personal preference, and fresh basil instead of the dried. With this I made mild Italian Sausage, next time I will double the recipe so I can have leftovers. Thank Joey Joan this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I had a yellow pepper, not a red one, on hand and I wanted to use it. I used Penzey's "Pasta Sprinkle" in place of the dried basil & oregano (basically the same thing) and FORGOT about the Parmesan cheese! Still, we loved it! I'll make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
3 1/2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Added Italian sausage and made it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States