Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was delicious! Only changes I made...I doubled the sauce and added a splash of red wine. I marinated for about 4 hours. I seared in my dutch oven,removed the pork, deglazed with the marinade, put the pork back in and scooped sauce over top of it. I cooked with the lid on the dutch oven for 1 hour. That's how long it took for mine to be done. Was very good! Thanks for a great recipe! SAFETY TIP: Count the toothpicks you put in because when it's done they are kind of hidden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My family loved it. The only change I made is that I omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is a keeper for sure. Took some hints from the comments but followed the recipe for the most part. I went straight into the roaster with the roast S&P and bacon..........started it out at 375 while I made the sauce. Used Maple Syrup instead of honey but other than that stuck to the recipe. Poured that over the roast and turned the heat down to 325 and cooked till the thermometer reached 145 basting a few times. Took it out and tented it till the rest of the meal was done. It was very tasty and juicy, the sauce did not dry out on the pan for me........I might try starting it at 400 next time just to crisp up the bacon a little more, but other than that this one is worthy of trying out on my biggest critic.......my Mom ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikski

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was really good! I doubled the glaze (except for the onion) and left out the rosemary just cause I didn't have any. I did NOT pre-brown because I couldn't find my toothpicks so had to use metal meat nails. I did use the broiler on low for the last few minutes, but next time I would put under the broiler first, without adding the glaze, to brown the bacon, and then add the glaze. My 1.5 lb. loin took about 50 minutes to cook thoroughly. I could see doing this without the bacon (because the glaze was delish!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
so very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this yesterday for dinner, but cooked on the grill over indirect heat. AWESOME is the only word I can think of to describe it. My husband doesn't usually care for pork, and he had 3 big helpings. The only thing I'll change is to add the raisins later in the cooking, they got pretty hard by the time the roast was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Perfect. I did add a baked apple topping for a little more "sweet" to it. It was great, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Awesome! Followed recipe except for used loin chops (which is what I had on hand) and nixed the raisins (but next time will add them in to see what I think). This tasted like a million dollar dish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenLucy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I think this recipe needs to specify whether it means "pork loin" or "pork tenderloin". From reading the comments, I think some people are confused and that is why some of the cooking times have been longer than expected. Made this today with pork loin and it turned out delicious. Took about an hour plus a bit to roast a 2-3 pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenLucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is my favorite recipe to do on the rotissere. I inject the loin with a mesquite marinade and let it roll. I try to keep heat around 350 and start checking internal temp after an hour. I pull it out a few degrees early as it will still cook a bit. Always a big hit. And it dont need baby sat, so more time to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States