Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Well, I just got up from the table after fixing this for dinner, and it was just superb! We don't get nice large pork loins around here, but we get the 2-in-a-pack type with the both of them weighing about 2-1/2 to 3 pounds. I prepared both of them, using 8 strips of bacon to do so. As recommended below, I quadrupled the sauce (1/2 cup each of honey, balsamic and red wine, 1 large yellow onion and 2 teaspoons dried rosemary) and doubled the raisins (1/4 cup). I basted at 15- and 30 minutes then added the raisins. It took another 25 minutes to finish it to 160° for a total cooking time of 55 minutes. Served 4 medallions each with broccoli and cheesy noodles and had enough to serve 6 or 7. Comment from the guest: "This would cost $50 at a good New York restaurtant...and you'd get only 3 medallions!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Unfortunately I was disappointed with this recipe. After the baking time of 30 minutes, the roast wasn't even close to being done. I had to cook another 15 minutes then finally microwave it (yikes!) because the family was starving! The sauce didn't add anything to the roast. I had high hopes as I love everything in the sauce, but all it did was make a huge blackened mess in the pan, as I don't think any of it stayed on the roast. The only saving grace was the bacon - what isn't made better with bacon? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was really good. It might be helpful to know that you cook 15 minutes per pound or to 160 degrees. I used wrights applewood bacon and used 1/2 cup of red wine and 1/2 cup of balsmic vinegar and 1/2 cup of honey. 1 lg. yellow onion and 1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary. I left off the raisins. The night before I seasoned pork loin with salt and pepper and browned in iron skillet and covered with the sauce to let marinate over night. I used my pamper chef roaster, without foil. It took my 4 pd. loin about and hour and 15 minute. Put remaining sauce in gravy dish for individual use. Served with scalloped potatoes and Foo Foo salad. USE HEMOSTATS OR NEEDLE NOSE PLYERS FOR REMOVING TOOTHPICKS.I USED STATS AND IT WAS VERY EASY TO DO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I really, really enjoyed this. I made about triple the amount of sauce (but just one large onion) and I think next time I'll make even more. I used boneless pork chops and cooked for about 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven, basting every 15 minutes and turning once halfway through cooking. Great submission, thank you! Oh, and no raisins for me. Update: EVEN BETTER the next day. Next time I'll marinate the pork in the sauce overnight first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe but I had a pork loin roast in my freezer from angelfoodministries.com that I wanted to use and I'd never cooked one before. I did an ingredient search and found this recipe. I had to substitute red wine vinegar for the balsamic vinegar and red wine because I don't keep those on hand. I also had no rosemary so I substituted Italian seasoning. Also I left out the raisins...and WOW, it was SO good! My entire family ate it and liked it, which is very unusual around here. My 3 and 6 year old daughters kept cleaning their plate, then pushing it toward me saying "More please!" Unbelievable! I actually thought it was very simple to make. One thing I will suggest is that before you slice it, move it to a slicing platter or you'll end up with aluminum foil bits all over your roast. I think the most difficult part of the recipe was taking the toothpicks out. lol. GREAT recipe; I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The best Pork Loin roast I have ever made or eaten! I used 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 red wine, 3 tbs of balsamic vinegar, 3 tbs of olive oil, 1 tbs maple syurp put over the top just before baking. After browing the roast in the frying pan. I put all other ingredients in skillet and brought to a boil and poured over the roast and refrigerated for 2 hrs and basting every 1/2 hr. when baking I basted it every 15 min. I kept it covered for the first 1/2 hour. I can't wait to make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe was great...the pork was very moist the bacon crisp and the sauce delicious. The only tweak I would make next time would be to cover with foil for the first 30 minutes (this takes at least 45 minutes to an hour to cook...NOT 30 minutes) because the sauce got a little too brown. Also, wait longer to add the raisins...they were hard as rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was delicious! Only changes I made...I doubled the sauce and added a splash of red wine. I marinated for about 4 hours. I seared in my dutch oven,removed the pork, deglazed with the marinade, put the pork back in and scooped sauce over top of it. I cooked with the lid on the dutch oven for 1 hour. That's how long it took for mine to be done. Was very good! Thanks for a great recipe! SAFETY TIP: Count the toothpicks you put in because when it's done they are kind of hidden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was tasty. I used white instead of red wine--mainly because this was what I had open. I also used my cast iron grill top for the sear. I'd love to try this on the grill. My hubby loved this--porky goodness is always a hit in our house. I did use some extra white wine to keep the glaze liquid during roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
this was great. I opted out on the raisins which my family does not like. It did require a little longer cook time, but overall wonderful. Will definitely fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States