Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Unfortunately I was disappointed with this recipe. After the baking time of 30 minutes, the roast wasn't even close to being done. I had to cook another 15 minutes then finally microwave it (yikes!) because the family was starving! The sauce didn't add anything to the roast. I had high hopes as I love everything in the sauce, but all it did was make a huge blackened mess in the pan, as I don't think any of it stayed on the roast. The only saving grace was the bacon - what isn't made better with bacon? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
this was great. I opted out on the raisins which my family does not like. It did require a little longer cook time, but overall wonderful. Will definitely fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
i thought this was quite tasty and tender but i had some reserved gravy from another pork dish and served that on the side as an option.my husband is a gravy "person".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Was very good I took it to a dinner party and we all enjoyed it the only problem I had was that it took a lot longer to cook than what was sugested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chappell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I really, really enjoyed this. I made about triple the amount of sauce (but just one large onion) and I think next time I'll make even more. I used boneless pork chops and cooked for about 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven, basting every 15 minutes and turning once halfway through cooking. Great submission, thank you! Oh, and no raisins for me. Update: EVEN BETTER the next day. Next time I'll marinate the pork in the sauce overnight first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I didn't think this recipe outstanding, I really felt it was missing something but my kids all loved it. And pleasing all of them (21, 8 & 6) with one dish is not an easy thing so I will give this a 4*. I followed the recipe exactly except for the raisins (they aren't available here). I did use an immersion blender on the sauce and covered the pan for the majority of the cooking. As a result the sauce did not burn to the bottom and I was able to continuously baste it. While I am not a raisin fan, perhaps thats the flavor I was missing? We will be making it again since the kids loved it so much and really it wasn't bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Oh, so tasty. Messy, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was tasty. I used white instead of red wine--mainly because this was what I had open. I also used my cast iron grill top for the sear. I'd love to try this on the grill. My hubby loved this--porky goodness is always a hit in our house. I did use some extra white wine to keep the glaze liquid during roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Well, I just got up from the table after fixing this for dinner, and it was just superb! We don't get nice large pork loins around here, but we get the 2-in-a-pack type with the both of them weighing about 2-1/2 to 3 pounds. I prepared both of them, using 8 strips of bacon to do so. As recommended below, I quadrupled the sauce (1/2 cup each of honey, balsamic and red wine, 1 large yellow onion and 2 teaspoons dried rosemary) and doubled the raisins (1/4 cup). I basted at 15- and 30 minutes then added the raisins. It took another 25 minutes to finish it to 160° for a total cooking time of 55 minutes. Served 4 medallions each with broccoli and cheesy noodles and had enough to serve 6 or 7. Comment from the guest: "This would cost $50 at a good New York restaurtant...and you'd get only 3 medallions!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe but I had a pork loin roast in my freezer from angelfoodministries.com that I wanted to use and I'd never cooked one before. I did an ingredient search and found this recipe. I had to substitute red wine vinegar for the balsamic vinegar and red wine because I don't keep those on hand. I also had no rosemary so I substituted Italian seasoning. Also I left out the raisins...and WOW, it was SO good! My entire family ate it and liked it, which is very unusual around here. My 3 and 6 year old daughters kept cleaning their plate, then pushing it toward me saying "More please!" Unbelievable! I actually thought it was very simple to make. One thing I will suggest is that before you slice it, move it to a slicing platter or you'll end up with aluminum foil bits all over your roast. I think the most difficult part of the recipe was taking the toothpicks out. lol. GREAT recipe; I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States