Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was really good! I doubled the glaze (except for the onion) and left out the rosemary just cause I didn't have any. I did NOT pre-brown because I couldn't find my toothpicks so had to use metal meat nails. I did use the broiler on low for the last few minutes, but next time I would put under the broiler first, without adding the glaze, to brown the bacon, and then add the glaze. My 1.5 lb. loin took about 50 minutes to cook thoroughly. I could see doing this without the bacon (because the glaze was delish!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
so very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this yesterday for dinner, but cooked on the grill over indirect heat. AWESOME is the only word I can think of to describe it. My husband doesn't usually care for pork, and he had 3 big helpings. The only thing I'll change is to add the raisins later in the cooking, they got pretty hard by the time the roast was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Perfect. I did add a baked apple topping for a little more "sweet" to it. It was great, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Awesome! Followed recipe except for used loin chops (which is what I had on hand) and nixed the raisins (but next time will add them in to see what I think). This tasted like a million dollar dish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenLucy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I think this recipe needs to specify whether it means "pork loin" or "pork tenderloin". From reading the comments, I think some people are confused and that is why some of the cooking times have been longer than expected. Made this today with pork loin and it turned out delicious. Took about an hour plus a bit to roast a 2-3 pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenLucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is my favorite recipe to do on the rotissere. I inject the loin with a mesquite marinade and let it roll. I try to keep heat around 350 and start checking internal temp after an hour. I pull it out a few degrees early as it will still cook a bit. Always a big hit. And it dont need baby sat, so more time to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wonderful! My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I sliced my tenderloin into 1inch rounds, wrapped it with turkey bacon (instead of pork) and used toothpicks to attach it. I only made 3 of these, approx .5 lb of pork loin since its just my husband and I. I doubled the sauce recipe except for the onion and added 3tbs total of brown sugar. I also decided to use it as a meranade instead of just baking the meat in the sauce. I made sure both sides of the meat was covered in the spices and onions while marinading in the fridge for about 6 hours. While the meat was baking I also basted the sauce over it every twenty min or so after flipping it each time. After being baked in the oven for about an hour on 350, it was SO tender and sweet tasting. The turkey bacon absorbed the sweetness of the sauce/meranade, I wasn't expecting that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I was very impressed with this recipe. This was the first time I ever prepared a pork loin and it turned out great. I went ahead and used the half cup suggestion and white wine that several other reviews suggested and I'm glad I did. There is no way 2 tablespoons of each would've been enough to keep the loin juicy and tender. I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND A MEAT THERMOMETER FOR THIS RECIPE. I left the loin in the oven for the recommended 45 minutes that I saw in several reviews and was very shocked when I started cutting into the loin and the majority of it was still pink. I would recommend string instead of toothpicks to hold the bacon on. When I tried to brown the loin in a pan the bacon did not stay put very well. I basted every 15 minutes and the loin was so juicy and tender. I plan on using this recipe again! Oh and I DID NOT use raisins. That just sounded terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States