Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage, Endive, & Blueberry Salad with Toasted Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was great! I'm glad I read the Reviews or else I may not have given the dressing a try, and I'm glad I did because it was surprisingly good! And like another Reviewer said, the best bite was one where you get all the ingredients together in one bite. It is also very flexible; I only had Romaine lettuce, Strawberries (no blueberries), and Walnuts (no Pecans), so I subbed those. Other than that I made it exactly as written. Oh, I had another brand of gourmet Chicken Sausage on hand so I used that. This is SO GOOD, and Good For You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Excellent! Made for a champagne brunch today and everyone loved it. I found an organic dressing (Bragg Healthy Vinaigrette) made from apple cider vinegar and honey that I used to save time. I also substituted honey roasted cashews instead of pecans and added some blueberry infused dried cranberries as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Didn't care much for sausage in the salad. Might have been better if cut smaller. Also, too much endive because it has a slight bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Loved it. Used pork sausage and browned it a bit longer than in the recipe to get it nice and crunchy all over. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was ok, but we really didn't care for warm sausages on a cold salad. It would be better if you brought your greens and blueberries to room temp first. I felt it also could've used more pecans and greens compared to the amount of sausage. Had to skip the cheese (no goat cheese during pregnancy). Not sure I'd make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
We really enjoyed this salad! My grocery was out of fresh endive, so I selected a mix with endive included. Also the al fresco (R) brand is not available in my area, so I opted for an alternate brand of fully-cooked apple-chicken sausage. I toasted walnuts to replace the pecans and feta for the goat cheese, because they're what I had on hand. The dressing is delicious even without oil! You could change this up so easily with various fruits/nuts/cheeses, even other meats - makes for a great lunch with a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wow, this is really delicious! (I didn't buy the brand mentioned, but the sausage was ok on the salad - just too salty for me. Maybe I'm just not a fan of sausage.) I added dried cherries the second time around, which increased the fabulousness of the salad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Hubs liked it more than I did. The package of sausage gave the option of microwaving so I opted for that due to a time constraint. The kids wouldn't touch the sausage and I didn't love it although it was better in the salad. Next time I will def grill or brown it on the stove. The dressing was ok....seemed to be missing something....? I like the mix of ingredients and will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Very nice and easy salad entree, definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States