Sweet and Tart Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I really loved this. I cut back o the sugar by 1/2 T and added some fresh basil (as suggested by reviewer). Anytime pepper is called for, I call for a little more. ;) This was perfect and simple. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I loved this simple, tasty recipe. I used the Splenda Brown Sugar blend and it tasted awesome! My family turned their noses up at the thought of black pepper pn strawberries so I probably will not use it next time but, I will put the peppermill on the table so my guests can add freshly ground pepper if they desire. I have used different grades of balsamic vinegar and the cheaper version was too tart; stick to the good stuff. I think next time I will add a dash of vanilla. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Yummy! My husband eyed this suspiciously at first, but then had two helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I sliced my strawberries (wish I had just halved them like in allrecipe sphoto) & then let them sit in the sugar for about an hour ...which was a bit too long I think for the sliced berries....they got a little mushy in their juices. So if I were using slices I wouldn't let them sit for that long but I think halves would hold up better. And then i waited untl serving beore sprinkling w/ balsamic as adviced by reviewers. Wsa a perfect side for an upscale 4th of July menu..thansk Edie Moon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
These berries were a fun change to just strawberries and sugar, but really I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. This is a nice start to a strawberry and spinach salad, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My 3 year old son gobbles this up! A suprisingly delicious and unique way to prepare strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I left out the pepper and it was yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was absolutely fabulous! Everyone raved about it. The balsamic vinegar and pepper are an unusual twist but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONTANAMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was a great way to serve plain strawberries. I whipped this together at the last minute, not waiting the 10 minutes. It turned out great!! My kids were even begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Woah! First of all, I didn't think this would work at all. Second, I don't usually really like strawberries because they are a little too tart for me. THIS WAS AWESOME. The perfect sweetness and tenderness. Really amazing, you have got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States