Sweet and Tart Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
You really need a good quality balsamic vinegar with this dish. I allowed the strawberries to saok in the sugar for a couple hours before serving. Add the vinegar and pepper only just before serving or they will not add any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very easy and delicious! This is one of those recipes that's really great and so simple yet tastes really good. It's surprisingly elegant and not to mention low fat! Definitely a "guilt free" treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is v good. It'd impress your guest, while being terribly easy to do. I think one needs to soak the berries with the sugar for longer than 10 mins, more like 45 mins if possible - I also added basil leaves, for fragrance. The balsamic vinegar and pepper, served separately for your guest to add himself, gives the sweetness a subtle complexity. Good accompaniment for a savory breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this salad for easter dinner, as we had a bunch of strawberries and didn't want them to go to waste - it was quite good. I must say, if you do make it, don't make it ahead of time and let it sit before you serve it, otherwise you lose the flavour of the balsamic vinegar. I noticed when I made it you could taste it, and it was a nice combination, but by the time we actually served dinner (an hour later), it just tasted like sweet strawberries. Give it a go, just serve it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Wow! I served this at a party on a bed of spring greens and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe was great! I served it for Easter dinner along with 6 other dishes and lots of people said it was one of the best. Don't let other reviews scare you off from this awesome fruit dish. I thought it was great. The pepper and vinegar added a perfect touch to a sugary strawberry salad. I wasn't sure about how it would turn out when I looked at the recipe. But, I tried it and I'm glad I did. No wonder they put this recipe in the cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
We absolutely loved this! It's so quick and easy to make and the pepper adds a nice kick. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
tastes great! I will make this one again, but I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I love the mix of flavors in this salad. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUMMRZGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheatland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Tastes only slightly different from plain strawberries with sugar. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't totally different from my other strawberry experiences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States