Sweet and Tart Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
A very simple salad. I have been eating this for years, but use Splenda in place of the brown sugar. A great way to get a yummy fruit serving in your day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzbethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Excellent served over vanilla ice cream, pepper and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight. Because I had a late lunch I was not hungry for hearty dinner. This hit the spot! I had a l lb. container of "about to expire" strawberries in my fridge (on sale this week for $1!!!), so I decided to give this a whirl, scaling to 3 servings (as close to 1 lb. measurement as possible). My verdict??? Unusual? Yes. Different from plain 'ol strawberries with sugar. No (but yes to minus the stickiness). Having said that, when the craving strikes, I DO think I'll prepare my fresh strawberries this way. After all, I ate ALL 3 SERVINGS lol! If I'm preparing strawberries to serve with pound / angel food cake or "shortcake style," I think I'll stick with the white sugar version, but for everything else, I'll stick with this. I think this would be EXCELLENT served with fresh basil too (mmm...) or as a green salad prepared with fresh spinach, candied pecans and feta or goat cheese (thanks for the suggestion fellow reviewers!). One more thought.... The most helpful reviews are just that - helpful (so take heed!). Two things I gleaned from reading all the reviews: a) use the BEST balsamic you can find / afford (it DOES make a difference!) and b) add your vinegar / pepper mixture IMMEDIATELY before serving. I ate mine right away, so this was a non-issue for me. Thanks for sharing, Edie :-) What a great use for fresh summer produce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My cynic daughter who "Never eats vinegar" was amazed, as was I. It makes the berries taste sweet as I remember them being growing up. It will be a regular for us now. I am taking it to a cookout today. I doubled it and it may not make it. I may have to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Amherst, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
a little something different from sweet strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was really good! I experimented with both regular and black cherry balsamic vinegars and liked both. The only thing I think I might reduce is the pepper. It was a little too much for my taste, but I think I'll start though by not grinding it as fine and see how that works. Great recipe overall and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was awesome! Really wasn't expecting the flavor to turn out the way it did. In the past I've been afraid to marry flavors together so know I'm trying to step outside of the box. Baby steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Really, REALLY yummy. WinCo had strawberries for .98/lb. so I stocked up. When I did a recipe search, this came up. I actually had a little of this over lowfat frozen vanilla yogurt and it was off the charts incredible. So good. I agree with a previous reviewer that you need a good quality balsamic. I could see how the outcome could be less than desirable if you didn't. NOTE: I made this again and served it to my kids tonight for dessert over strawberry five minute ice cream. They flipped for it. Nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
this tastes wonderful served over panna cotta! very elegant dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I add a bit of water to mine to dilute the vinegar somewhat, and to give me something to help coat the berries in. Thanks for the recipe! (I like this better than the white sugar versions.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States