Sweet and Tangy Slow Cooker Bar-B-Q Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very good. To reduce the fat I boiled the ribs for 30 minutes in water and trimmed them of excess fat (much easier after they firm up a bit from the par cooking) before I put them in the crock with the sauce. I used bone-in country style ribs but by the time they were done, they were falling off the bone tender and delicious. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Really Good. I substituted celery salt for celery seed and no chili sauce. The sauce was really thin and I only cooked it for 6 hours and they were great. I should have added more peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybabiesmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was not one of my favorites. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of not having celery seeds so I used celery salt. The ribs were moist for sure but the sauce was runny and I didn't really care for the flavor all so much. It had a lot of ingredients for the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good.:) For our tastes and a suggestion: Up the brown sugar just a bit, and add a few teaspoons of liquid smoke. Also, if you haven't tried jack daniels brand dijon mustard, I think it is wonderful, and was very good in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Absolutely AMAZING! This was my first time eating ribs, let alone making them and I think I'm hooked! This recipe must be great because my ribs had been shoved to the back on my freezer and were horrifically freezer burnt. They came out of the slow cooker falling apart, moist, and tasting amazing. I skipped the peppers/onions and had to use regular mustard when I realized I was out of dijon. I boiled the ribs for 30 minutes and didn't see an ounce of fat in my sauce when these were done. I cooked the ribs on high for 1 hour and on low for 5. Perfection! This is such a great recipe; I'll be recommending it to everyone! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Had my doubts that this would be enough sauce for the pork chops, but in the end it all worked out well. It was a very good dish which I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good but not great. Boiled them first to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow! This was awesome!!! My husband loved it, this was the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMBrsl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Yummy! I went a little light on the spicy stuff, and skipped the red pepper. I also added a bit more water, because it was going to be in the pot for a little more than 8 hours; this turned out to be unecessary, as the sauce was a little thin. Excellent flavor though, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I was looking for a good bar-b-q sauce. And this was it. We are not pork eaters, so instead of the ribs, I used a 2 lb london broil roast. After 10 hours in the crock pot, I shredded the beef and put it back in the pot with the sauce for another half hour. This was delicious as pulled beef. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States