Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was my first encounter with collard greens (eating or cooking) and i was thrilled with the results! First time collard cooks might want to look up preparation instructions. I found a video on youtube and am glad i looked since i wouldn't have washed and cooked them properly otherwise. Don't eat the stems :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
The other reviewers recommendations were taken into consideration. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinamayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: China, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
My daughter ate her greens and liked them!! I had some frozen cooked greens in my freezer that my husband has been wanting me to do something w/ so I used this recipe. Since my greens were previous cooked, I simply thawed, drained, and added them to the sauteed onion with Pam butter spray instead of oil. I omitted the butter and used jarred ginger. This was so good, I can't wait to give this recipe to my sister-in-law. I can't wait for my greens to grow this year b/c of this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
OK, so if all greens tasted this good, I'd eat them ALL the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! Didn't add butter to sauce, and thought it was much nicer, and lower in calories. Great use of collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
yum! I used what I had in the cupboard. Balsamic, olive oil, white sugar, salt, pepper. Had just a single serving of greens in the fridge and calculated out a 1/4 of the dressing. Was AMAZING. first time making greens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I have tried cooking collard greens several times and never liked the way it came out, but I couldn't get enough of this! Thanks to the person who recommended watching how to prepare collard greens on YouTube - I am sure that was a big help to the taste! I added some garlic with the onions and only used 2tbsp of butter (next time I will try omitting it altogether to see if there is much difference and will probably decrease the honey a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow! Used a bit less butter, added garlic to the onion, and had to use powdered ginger, but LOVED this recipe! Thanks for the tip on not eating the stems. I had never been a big fan of collards, but was getting bored with the normal veggie routine and bought some to try- and I'll be doing it again very soon! Delicious flavor! And I'll be using the honey/balsamic combo when I make salad dressing too- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salsgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but I received them in my co-op share, so had to find a way to make them edible. I must say, this is a delicious recipe. I omitted the butter. The dressing is delicious. I will try this next time with a less bitter green, like Swiss Chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States