Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
With the fact that we were used to have collard greens ALL the time in the southern style (smocked hocks or smocked turkey, etc.), I decided to give a try to this recipe. I read all the reviews and the sugested improvements... so I did my own. I did add garlic (3 cloves chopped) to the onions. I cooked the greens for 12 min instead and season them at that time. I change the butter for 1 1/2 tbs dark sesame oil and 1 1/2 tbs spicy HOT sesame oil. The result was a FANTASTIC side dish for my pan seared Tuna, and jasmin rice with dry shiitake mooshrooms. Rodrigouno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodrigouno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was my first encounter with collard greens (eating or cooking) and i was thrilled with the results! First time collard cooks might want to look up preparation instructions. I found a video on youtube and am glad i looked since i wouldn't have washed and cooked them properly otherwise. Don't eat the stems :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! Didn't add butter to sauce, and thought it was much nicer, and lower in calories. Great use of collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
as an old white guy from the North taught by an old black woman from a tenement farm in Mississippi in how to cook and enjoy greens..you know with all the fatty body parts of the pig....and to find this that tastes as good and is a whole lot healthier...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious and quick. I felt that the flavors were well balanced. I halved the recipe (approximately...) and I didn't think the dressing was too strong, loved the ginger flavor. My mother loved it too and she hates greens, which is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4orange5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had extra collards I needed to use & thought this recipe sounded interesting. The dressing is superb, though as other reviewers suggested--I think you could omit the butter. This was a simple, very attractive & delicious recipe--thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! I didn't use the butter in the sauce, and I added a little garlic with the onions. This recipe made me want to go buy more collards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My husband and I both like the recipe especially the dressing, but I will say that I don't think I cooked the greens enough as they were still hard to chew (be warned). I also used about 1/2 the butter, just because of the fat involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very good Recipe. I added fresh garlic to my taste with the onions as they sauted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
i thought the ginger is too strong for greens that already have a pretty strong flavor. i liked the honey and vinegar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States