Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a test recipe for a Mardi Gras Dinner Party - and it got rave reviews! I made a few amendments to the cooking method: I steamed the collards which makes them very tender quickly but retains their color, with a whole chopped onion. I used a dark buckwheat honey and a Sicilian Lemon White Balsamic Vinegar made by Fiore. I would consider spicing it up a bit with a sprinkling of pepper flakes depending on what it would be served with - just to counter the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe for New Year's day meal today. I usually cook my collard greens in a pressure cooker but the thought of doing something different appealed to me today so I gave it a shot. Like some of the other reviewers, I modified the recipe slightly. I added in 2 cloves of garlic to the onion saute, and also added in about 1/2 tsp of grated fresh ginger. Other than that, I followed pretty closely. I cooked these in a large electric wok which provided easy heat control, and I went about 10 mins or so after adding in the water at approx 350f on the temp controller. I was a bit reluctant to add the sauce because I thought it may be overpowering, but it turned out really well. My wife (who doesn't normally care much for collards) liked it also and thought it was more like a salad dish than a collard dish. I definitely left the greens just a TINY BIT al dente because I didn't want that fully soft texture that you get when you boil collards. That's why I usually use a pressure cooker and these ended up with a very similar texture. Will definitely be trying this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was such an excellent recipe and I love that it was a little different flavor combination than the traditional collard greens recipes. It was an ideal compliment to our sweet potato soup and crusty bread. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
We keep getting Collards in our CSA box, and this is the best recipe I've found for them so far. I really like the slight sweetness from the honey. We'll make this again. Thanks, Lauren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was wonderful. I added garlic as some suggested and my husband thinks that it should cook longer to soften the greens. I will make this often. Thanks for a great recipe. I like it much better than the traditional way of cooking collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! I added a can of rinsed black eyed peas at the end and heated through to make this a vegetarian main dish. I served it with rice and a corn casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delanco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Hubby said he liked the texture but recipe too sweet. I want to love greens but I just don't :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I replaced vegetable oil with olive oil, eliminated the butter and added fresh garlic to taste and, VOILA! This recipe is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent alternative to the usual ham hock greens recipes! (I like the ham, but sometimes you want it to be vegetarian.) And this recipe is very quick and easy. These are sweet and tangy just like the recipe says, but you still get the flavor of the greens. I used more onions, I would recommend using a whole onion. I had about half the amount of greens the recipe stated and didn't realize it, so I had too much dressing. So make sure you check the package if you're using packaged greens like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Best collars greens ever, and no pork for an added vegetarian bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States