Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was delicious! It was my first time cooking collard greens, and I'm so glad that I came across this recipe. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I'd never had collared greens before so I can't judge, but they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was fabulous! I omitted the ginger and added crushed garlic. Rather than make a dressing I simply tossed a few tablespoons of butter into the pan after the greens cooked and after it melted I added the balsamic and a splash of agave nectar in lieu of the honey. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a test recipe for a Mardi Gras Dinner Party - and it got rave reviews! I made a few amendments to the cooking method: I steamed the collards which makes them very tender quickly but retains their color, with a whole chopped onion. I used a dark buckwheat honey and a Sicilian Lemon White Balsamic Vinegar made by Fiore. I would consider spicing it up a bit with a sprinkling of pepper flakes depending on what it would be served with - just to counter the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe for New Year's day meal today. I usually cook my collard greens in a pressure cooker but the thought of doing something different appealed to me today so I gave it a shot. Like some of the other reviewers, I modified the recipe slightly. I added in 2 cloves of garlic to the onion saute, and also added in about 1/2 tsp of grated fresh ginger. Other than that, I followed pretty closely. I cooked these in a large electric wok which provided easy heat control, and I went about 10 mins or so after adding in the water at approx 350f on the temp controller. I was a bit reluctant to add the sauce because I thought it may be overpowering, but it turned out really well. My wife (who doesn't normally care much for collards) liked it also and thought it was more like a salad dish than a collard dish. I definitely left the greens just a TINY BIT al dente because I didn't want that fully soft texture that you get when you boil collards. That's why I usually use a pressure cooker and these ended up with a very similar texture. Will definitely be trying this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was such an excellent recipe and I love that it was a little different flavor combination than the traditional collard greens recipes. It was an ideal compliment to our sweet potato soup and crusty bread. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
We keep getting Collards in our CSA box, and this is the best recipe I've found for them so far. I really like the slight sweetness from the honey. We'll make this again. Thanks, Lauren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was wonderful. I added garlic as some suggested and my husband thinks that it should cook longer to soften the greens. I will make this often. Thanks for a great recipe. I like it much better than the traditional way of cooking collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! I added a can of rinsed black eyed peas at the end and heated through to make this a vegetarian main dish. I served it with rice and a corn casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delanco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States