Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
So far, this is my favorite collard greens recipe. I did not use butter but substituted 2T olive oil. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salsgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but I received them in my co-op share, so had to find a way to make them edible. I must say, this is a delicious recipe. I omitted the butter. The dressing is delicious. I will try this next time with a less bitter green, like Swiss Chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow! Used a bit less butter, added garlic to the onion, and had to use powdered ginger, but LOVED this recipe! Thanks for the tip on not eating the stems. I had never been a big fan of collards, but was getting bored with the normal veggie routine and bought some to try- and I'll be doing it again very soon! Delicious flavor! And I'll be using the honey/balsamic combo when I make salad dressing too- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I have tried cooking collard greens several times and never liked the way it came out, but I couldn't get enough of this! Thanks to the person who recommended watching how to prepare collard greens on YouTube - I am sure that was a big help to the taste! I added some garlic with the onions and only used 2tbsp of butter (next time I will try omitting it altogether to see if there is much difference and will probably decrease the honey a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
yum! I used what I had in the cupboard. Balsamic, olive oil, white sugar, salt, pepper. Had just a single serving of greens in the fridge and calculated out a 1/4 of the dressing. Was AMAZING. first time making greens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was my first encounter with collard greens (eating or cooking) and i was thrilled with the results! First time collard cooks might want to look up preparation instructions. I found a video on youtube and am glad i looked since i wouldn't have washed and cooked them properly otherwise. Don't eat the stems :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! I didn't use the butter in the sauce, and I added a little garlic with the onions. This recipe made me want to go buy more collards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was my husband and my first attempt at eating collard greens and I'm sorry to say it was not a good experience. I can see how this recipe would be good if you liked greens already, but didn't make the cut for those of us who aren't such big fans of greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Mixed because I loved the taste of the dressing (just didn't add butter though) but I guess I just don't like the taste of collard greens. never had them before, but was too bitter tasting for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious and quick. I felt that the flavors were well balanced. I halved the recipe (approximately...) and I didn't think the dressing was too strong, loved the ginger flavor. My mother loved it too and she hates greens, which is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4orange5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States