Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Hubby said he liked the texture but recipe too sweet. I want to love greens but I just don't :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I replaced vegetable oil with olive oil, eliminated the butter and added fresh garlic to taste and, VOILA! This recipe is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent alternative to the usual ham hock greens recipes! (I like the ham, but sometimes you want it to be vegetarian.) And this recipe is very quick and easy. These are sweet and tangy just like the recipe says, but you still get the flavor of the greens. I used more onions, I would recommend using a whole onion. I had about half the amount of greens the recipe stated and didn't realize it, so I had too much dressing. So make sure you check the package if you're using packaged greens like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Best collars greens ever, and no pork for an added vegetarian bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
OMG, I'm a southern girl that doesn't care for traditional collards. Love these! Bought a bag of collards and kale for New Year's luck and had planned on making the simmered greens for the hubby. Found this recipe after finding the kale chips (yummy as well) and thought I'd try it. Hit with the whole family! Definitely adding to the recipe box. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
as an old white guy from the North taught by an old black woman from a tenement farm in Mississippi in how to cook and enjoy greens..you know with all the fatty body parts of the pig....and to find this that tastes as good and is a whole lot healthier...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My family loved these greens. They have enjoyed collards sliced thin in green salads and cole slaws, and have enjoyed collards the old southern way, but this is absolutely their favorite recipe for greens to date. I was late getting to the table the first time I served these, and there were hardly any left for me to even taste them (and yes, I love them too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These are the most delicious collard greens I've ever eaten. This method allows the greens to retain some texture and crunch (and likely loads more nutrients) than those recipes that "cook the greens to death". I omitted the onion and didn't miss it...just simple, delicious greens. This is a new addition to our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My husband and I both like the recipe especially the dressing, but I will say that I don't think I cooked the greens enough as they were still hard to chew (be warned). I also used about 1/2 the butter, just because of the fat involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Made this with mustard greens instead of collards, since that's what I had. It was fabulous. Make sure you have rice with this to soak up the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States