Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
OMG, I'm a southern girl that doesn't care for traditional collards. Love these! Bought a bag of collards and kale for New Year's luck and had planned on making the simmered greens for the hubby. Found this recipe after finding the kale chips (yummy as well) and thought I'd try it. Hit with the whole family! Definitely adding to the recipe box. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
as an old white guy from the North taught by an old black woman from a tenement farm in Mississippi in how to cook and enjoy greens..you know with all the fatty body parts of the pig....and to find this that tastes as good and is a whole lot healthier...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My family loved these greens. They have enjoyed collards sliced thin in green salads and cole slaws, and have enjoyed collards the old southern way, but this is absolutely their favorite recipe for greens to date. I was late getting to the table the first time I served these, and there were hardly any left for me to even taste them (and yes, I love them too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These are the most delicious collard greens I've ever eaten. This method allows the greens to retain some texture and crunch (and likely loads more nutrients) than those recipes that "cook the greens to death". I omitted the onion and didn't miss it...just simple, delicious greens. This is a new addition to our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My husband and I both like the recipe especially the dressing, but I will say that I don't think I cooked the greens enough as they were still hard to chew (be warned). I also used about 1/2 the butter, just because of the fat involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Made this with mustard greens instead of collards, since that's what I had. It was fabulous. Make sure you have rice with this to soak up the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good taste! I made the following changes to the recipe. First, instead of butter, I followed another's suggestion and use 1.5 tablespoons of sesame oil and 1 tablespoon of hot chili oil. I added a lot of ginger since my husband and I are very fond of it. Roughly a talespoon of finely minced fresh ginger root. A lighter balsamic vinegar worked very well. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
OMG thank you for a recipe not dripping with animal fat! I've never had collards before but this recipe will be a regular now. I made a few modest changes as I didn't have all the ingredients. I sauted the onion with garlic in a dark sesame oil/evoo blend. Then subbed rice wine vinegar for the basalmic. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
this was so good!! first time ever having collard greens, and i am glad this was how i chose to try them. i decided to make a 2 serving batch for my meal, having it like a hot salad with some salmon on top. because it was my meal, i added some shredded carrots half way through the cooking. unfortunetly i didn't have balsamic vinegar, so i used apple cider. it was so tasty. and so fast. highly recommend this recipe for those new to collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CallejaFairey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
delicious and fresh tasting - i only used one tablespoon of butter in the dressing and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States