Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was my first encounter with collard greens (eating or cooking) and i was thrilled with the results! First time collard cooks might want to look up preparation instructions. I found a video on youtube and am glad i looked since i wouldn't have washed and cooked them properly otherwise. Don't eat the stems :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow! Used a bit less butter, added garlic to the onion, and had to use powdered ginger, but LOVED this recipe! Thanks for the tip on not eating the stems. I had never been a big fan of collards, but was getting bored with the normal veggie routine and bought some to try- and I'll be doing it again very soon! Delicious flavor! And I'll be using the honey/balsamic combo when I make salad dressing too- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
yum! I used what I had in the cupboard. Balsamic, olive oil, white sugar, salt, pepper. Had just a single serving of greens in the fridge and calculated out a 1/4 of the dressing. Was AMAZING. first time making greens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I have tried cooking collard greens several times and never liked the way it came out, but I couldn't get enough of this! Thanks to the person who recommended watching how to prepare collard greens on YouTube - I am sure that was a big help to the taste! I added some garlic with the onions and only used 2tbsp of butter (next time I will try omitting it altogether to see if there is much difference and will probably decrease the honey a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salsgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but I received them in my co-op share, so had to find a way to make them edible. I must say, this is a delicious recipe. I omitted the butter. The dressing is delicious. I will try this next time with a less bitter green, like Swiss Chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
The other reviewers recommendations were taken into consideration. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinamayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: China, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
My daughter ate her greens and liked them!! I had some frozen cooked greens in my freezer that my husband has been wanting me to do something w/ so I used this recipe. Since my greens were previous cooked, I simply thawed, drained, and added them to the sauteed onion with Pam butter spray instead of oil. I omitted the butter and used jarred ginger. This was so good, I can't wait to give this recipe to my sister-in-law. I can't wait for my greens to grow this year b/c of this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
OK, so if all greens tasted this good, I'd eat them ALL the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! Didn't add butter to sauce, and thought it was much nicer, and lower in calories. Great use of collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States