Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Awesome collards! Took the advice of several reviewers and cooked them a bit longer. Used red wine vinegar and molasses. Great flavor and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Tip below. First let me say, this was really, really great. It was what I love best - the sweet and the sour - about having my greens with chow chow, but all in one simple dish. I used pure maple syrup instead of honey, because of taste preference; otherwise, I made this just as it was written. Tip: salt the greens and let them weep out their bitterness for about 30 min - 1 hour before cooking. Just be sure to rinse off the salt and then give the them a good squeeze. This will also help you fit them into the pan without have to wilt them in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Short on time with hungry mouths to feed, I searched and searched for a recipe that would allow us to eat greens in under an hour. I was skeptcal (being from the South) but they were SO good. My husband and children agreed. I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I substituted with apple cidar vinegar and it worked well. I also added chopped garlic cloves as recommended by rodrigouno...and I cooked mine for 12 minutes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was great. even better when you cook the greens in chicken stock. I got away with simplifying the dressing to equal parts balsamic and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have the ginger, but this still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was delicious! It was my first time cooking collard greens, and I'm so glad that I came across this recipe. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I'd never had collared greens before so I can't judge, but they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was fabulous! I omitted the ginger and added crushed garlic. Rather than make a dressing I simply tossed a few tablespoons of butter into the pan after the greens cooked and after it melted I added the balsamic and a splash of agave nectar in lieu of the honey. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States