Sweet and Tangy Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I made this and was very surprised that my husband not only liked, but loved it. He said he didn't like cold broccoli until he ate this. He took the entire container with him to work! The only thing I didn't like was that the dressing was a bit watery but the flavors were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a great starter for a basic, delicious broccoli salad. If you're trying to eat healthier, you can cut the amount of mayonnaise, sugar, and red wine vinegar (which I use in place of white vinegar) in half like I did and it will still taste great - the flavors will still be very pronounced! I know a lot of people added cheddar to this recipe, but I prefer feta. I use a mix of craisins and golden raisins instead of raisins. I also add cashews to the mix. Tip: let the salad soak for at least a couple of hours before eating to give the flavors a chance to marry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Very good, I'm sure, as is. This is just to let you know that I had to leave out the nuts and raisens to please my husband and it was still good. I also only had mozerella cheese and it was fine, but I think it will be much better as instructed with the sharp cheddar. I think next time, I will use the wine vinegar as one reviewer suggested, and maybe cut back alittle on the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Too much bacon. I would use maybe 1/2 of what's called for. I also added the cheddar cheese. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love, love, love this salad! I like to blanch the broccoli so it's just slightly tender. I also use half sour cream, half mayo, grapes instead of raisins, and add white cheddar cheese. Sometimes I add some carrots for color. It's sooo good! I'm going to try using cranberries the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiginn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Simple and easy! One of the favorite side dishes at my parties. I used less sugar than what was recommended, otherwise didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I also like to add shredded cheddar cheese and instead of raisins I use craisins. It's definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svencel12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great recipe. I made it healthy by substituting turkey bacon, light Hellmon's mayonnaise, and Splenda. Also used mixed gold and brown raisins to vary the flavor a bit. It tasted as good as the original version. Even the skeptical people at my office loved it (and I didn't tell them it was healthy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love it! I added some sharp grated cheddar and used halved red grapes because I didn't have raisins. I think next time I will throw in some sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I love this recipe! I use non-fat plain greek yogurt instead of the mayo for a healthier version, and it comes out just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States