Sweet and Tangy Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This salad is a hit any time i make it....i add 1cup of peanuts or cashews and 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese....and i use red wine vinegar......always bring home an empty bowl. It is a crunchy, sweet and tangy salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I make this salad, given to me by mom-in-law. The only diff is that instead of raisins, we use pecans...the sweet flaor of these nuts truly make a diff. Also, we add cheddar cheese for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Because I'm low on mayonnaise, I used half mayonnaise and half sour cream. The mayonnaise/sour cream I used are reduced fat. I threw in a half cup or so of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I liked the combination of ingredients together which surprized me--it was a wonderful salty/sweet combination. Not something that I would make every day because of the calorie count but for those PMS cravings, this is just what I wanted while still eating semi-healthy. Hey, broccoli is healthy! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I have made variations of this broccoli salad for years. I used craisins instead of raisins and added about 3/4 cup of grated cheddar cheese. I made the sauce as is and thought it was a little sweet for our taste. I added a little more mayo and vinegar and it was perfect. If you like it really sweet - I would make as is. If you prefer a tangier sauce I would start with 1/4 cup of sugar and adjust according to your taste. Thanks for the recipe, Dina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I loved this salad, although I did make a few changes. I used only 1/2 pound bacon just for the saltyness, used sliced red grapes instead of raisins,(green would work too) I don't use sugar, so I whisked together 1/8 cup of warmed honey with the mayo, and I used 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar, and 2 tablespoons sliced and toasted almonds. Everyone loved it, no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
A neighbor friend just gave me this same recipe a few days ago, minus the raisins. She said it's her family's favorite salad, and is so delicious, the dressing is what makes the whole thing wonderful. I'm getting some fresh broccoli when I get to the grocery store tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I have been looking all over for a Broccoli Salad that was similar to a salad that was served with a local fish fry that my family fell in love with. I have combed the internet and have tried 6 so far then I tried this recipe. This by far is THE BEST!. As a matter of fact this recipe even topped the original salad we loved so much. I do recommend however since I made this twice in a 24 hour period LOL, that you do not drain the bacon grease. It is not that much grease and the flavor goes throughout the entire salad. What an awesome salad! Thanks Dina for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love it! I added some sharp grated cheddar and used halved red grapes because I didn't have raisins. I think next time I will throw in some sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I add 1 cup green seedless grapes sliced lengthwise,1 cup red seedless grapes also cut lengthwise and 1 cup slivered almonds. I also do not use the vinegar. I never have any leftovers!I give this 5 stars with my additions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jritter
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Very good...I used bagged broccoli florets and another bag of shredded broccoli with carrots. I lessened the amount of sugar to 1/3 cup. Then I added sliced almonds instead of raisins, and I used bacon chips instead of real bacon. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States