Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I don't know about this one. Tried it, followed the directions exactly as they are. I found the taste odd and the sauce was very acidic. When I first read the recipe, I was wondering about the acidity level when you see things like 2 cups of ketchup (which has a lot of vinegar in it), 1/2 cup vinegar, and then 1/4 cup apple juice - all these are acidic! Might be better if the ketchup was changed for tomato paste and crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I've never had much luck with BBQ sauce, and I've tried maybe 20 different recipes. This was easy to make and the flavor and consistency was excellent. I added some hot sauce to it. That was my only modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great sauce, I used it on pulled pork and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very tasty indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This sauce was awesome! Cooked on the stove top and then put in with pork that I pulled! Instant favorite! Our mouths watered from the smell along! Makes a ton too! Yummy!! I would change anything about this recipe at all! Thanks Capital Catering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Delicious! Just a few substitutions: fruit punch for the apple cider, 1 cup of creamy tomato soup for 1 cup of the ketchup, and soy sauce for worcestshire. I also added just a few drops of liquid smoke. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Wow! This BBQ sauce is fantastic! I have only used it on chicken so far. I had some leftover, so I stored it in a jar in the fridge until my next BBQ need. We think it tasted even better the second time around. I will definitely make this again and again; I may never buy from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was my first attempt at making BBQ sauce. It was very easy to make and it tasted great. I look forward to changing up the recipe to make different versions of this one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Excellent, tasty and thick. It was the perfect amount to fill 1 large mason jar so I went ahead and canned it. I used it to mop on baby back ribs that I had also used CCRyder's dry rub found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is an awesome BBQ sauce. Instead of 2 cups of ketchup, I used 1 cup ketchup and 1 cup of homemade chili sauce. I had no apple juice so substituted orange juice in it's place. After it was finished I used the immersion blender to get it all smooth and it was a great hit at our chicken barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States