Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was very good. My husband said it was the best barbecue sauce he has tasted - just enough tang, just enough sweetness. The only changes I made were apple cider instead of apple juice and just added 1 tsp. of onion powder instead of sauteing the onions in butter. This made it easier, and I didn't want onion lumps in the sauce. This is now my go-to barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is my husband's new favorite barbeque sauce! We make 1 1/2 to double batches and seal it up in canning jars so we always have it on hand. GREAT over shredded beef for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
If you are looking for a vinegar sauce this might work for you. Reminds me of sloppy Joe sauce. Too acidity for us, I added additional sugar to balance out. I wanted to try something different, may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a five star sauce, I made this and it was wonderful, me and my wife love this. It reminds us of an old resturant where we live called DA pitts. It was the sweet spicy taste that done me in I'm hooked for life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by videlsports

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good sauce. I didn't have cayenne on hand because my family doesn't care for very spicy things, but it tasted just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and found it to be too acidic. Way too much vinegar. If I ever make it again, I would cut the vinegar in half. Maybe with less vinegar and a longer simmer time, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ml

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe assures I will never use jarred sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j9hurley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I mixed the ingredients together mostly according to the recipe. I didn't have a small onion so I used a teaspoon of onion powder. I didn't have dry mustard either so I used a squirt of regular mustard. And i used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. After adding the cayenne pepper, it was REALLY spicy so (at the request of my 7 year old) I added some more honey and threw in a couple of tablespoons of teriakyi sauce. I put it all in my crockpot and cooked it for a few hours with some low-end pork chops. They were so tender and tasted AMAZING! the whole family was thrilled. Then I left the rest of the porkchops in the crock pot over night on low heat and by this morning we had a fantastic tasting VERY SPICY brisket!! DELICIOUS!! I will definitely use this recipe again and again! I'm so glad I dared to use an online recipe for BBQ sauce. This is better than store bought and right up there with restaurants like Smokey bones. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialmegan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Putnam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
amazing. I use this all the time, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States