Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is an excellent recipe to modify to suit your own personal tastes. The biggest change I do is I boil the onion in red wine and puree the onions. I also add much more sweet (mostly molasses) to it and a few drops of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Shurlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe but decided it was too sweet. I added more fresh garlic, steak seasoning, and half of a beer! I also omitted the water and just used apple cider vinegar. Also added a little seasoned salt. It was fabulous!! I put in the crock pot along with a pork shoulder to make BBQ pulled pork sandwiches and it made enough for 6 people to eat and some leftovers! Definitely will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
A nice recipe that stuck to the meat nicely. Had enough to mix with pulled pork too from this one recipe. Good go to recipe. Why buy? I used homemade ketchup. So had a nice fresh distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love anything vinegar based and thought this recipe sounded good. I used a cup of ketchup and a can of diced tomatoes and pretty much followed the rest of the recipe. After simmering down i tasted it and all I tasted was ketchup. 3.5 pints of ketchup. Definitely not the BBQ sauce I was trying for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Tracy Gavidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The family insists I use this recipe for barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I love, love, love this recipe! I have stopped buying barbecue sauce and make this exclusively. The only change I made was to replace the molasses with agave and I halved the cayenne. My family loves to use this as a dip for potato chips, as well as anything else they can put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Fantastic, used with pulled pork. Subbed pure maple syrup for molasses and skipped the honey. Amazing, thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
My favorite made a few changes,medium onion,3 cloves garlic minced, apple juice concentrate,grd serrano replaces cayenne,1/2 cup jack daniels no. 7, & simmer 45 mins. Have built 10 recipies used with 25 smoke cooked pork butts. Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States