Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yum!! I was attracted by the rave reviews by males (husbands, fiances) :) My husband likes spice and it wasn't too sweet for him like other sweet potatoe dishes. I took the suggestions to add a teaspoon of Cinnamon and a tablespoon of Brown Sugar. I only used 1 teaspoon of Paprika rather than 1 1/2 Tablespoons (?) and also left out the poultry seasoning. I used Olive Oil, adding only enough to cover the amount of potatoes I had so not quite 3T. I also oiled the glass dish I cooked them in so altogether, there was plenty of oil to not burn to the dish yet not too much. I look forward to making this again and using some of the other tips to create different flavors, like using fajita seasoning or steak seasoning instead of poultry seasoning. This recipe has opened my mind to the options of flavors (not to mention healthier dishes)for Sweet Potatoes, other than the typical super sweet, marshmallows, maple syrup, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was FANTASTIC!!!! It was sooo delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used 2 tbsp. of brown sugar instead of the suggested 2 tsp. I did not have poultry powder, so I used McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning. I used fresh garlic instead of powdered. I used the suggestion of a previous reviewer -"Adrienne" and added some cinnamon. Thanks for the great delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was a great recipe. I altered it slightly to fit the spices I had. Plus we don't like things that are too spicy. I omitted the cayenne pepper, the poultry seasoning, and the onion powder, and added 1/2 tsp of seasoning salt. I believe my sweet potatoes were on the smaller side. Instead of baking in the oven, I put the whole mixture in the crockpot for 3 hours and had a lovely side dish. Will be making this recipe again for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe! We followed the recipe exactly omitting the poultry seasoning (we have none) and am having them again tonight. If you take the time to chop the potatoes a little smaller...then every bite gets more crispy and tasteful. We mix everything in a large ziploc bag and dump them on our baking sheet. Bake them at 425 for 20 - 25 mins flipping halfway through. Easy and delicious! One of our favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
First time making sweet potatoes. Created my own spice mixture - 1 tbs. cumin, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, 1/4 tsp. curry powder, and salt. Cut the sweet potatoes into thin slices, along with garlic cloves. Would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcontro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was wonderful! I didn't have poultry seasoning or the chilli powder, but I added 1 tsp of cinnamon. It was perfect! A definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! It tasted just like the title suggests - sweet and spicy. The only changes I made were to accidentally double the black pepper, and to omit the poultry seasoning because I didn't have any. This is a recipe I would gladly make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Used 1 tbsp brown suger and 1 tsp cinnamon as suggested. Didn't have any poultry seasoning. Had almost a full bowl of cubed potatoes. Used just over half of the spices that were all mixed together in a small bowl, seemed like a lot of spice on the potatoes without using the remaining spices. Will save for next time. Everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a great side dish! I omitted the poultry seasoning and did not have onion powder, but I did have some fresh red and sweet onions. I cut a little of each chunky like the cuts of the potato, mixed in, and baked. I also sprinkled some Kosher salt before placing in the oven. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Delicious. To make sure the spices get distributed evenly, I like to mix all of them together first, and then mix it in with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States