Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made these this weekend and everyone loved them. I usually don't like sweet potatoes because they're just too sweet but the spices in this balanced it out nice. I would give it a 5 but the taste needed a bit more of a kick to it. I think adding 2 tsp salt and increasing the cayenne pepper to 1tbsp would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Mediocre, recipe sounded wonderful but not anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Not a huge fan. Spices were too spicy and overpowered the sweet potato. No salt at all, which was a disappointment in the final product. I like the mixture of sweet and salty, which this recipe didn't have any. This recipe was like licking a spice pepper spoon. They also turned my fries soggy. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Left out the brown sugar. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Holland Landing, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Went a little light on spices (except paprika) and they were delicious. A little kick, but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Like others, I adjusted the spice amounts. That much on 2 potatoes would have been too spicy hot for us. The brown sugar I upped to 1T, the paprika became 1t, and the rest was at 1/4 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this recipe. My kids ate the leftovers cold the next morning. That's how good they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Added 1/2 tsp white pepper and used adobo instead of poultry seasoning.... was excellent... then I used the leftovers along with zuchinni and onions to make a great brunch fritatta garnished with cheddar cheese and peppedews. I will add this to my staple recipes for sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin Ashurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I really like the gist of the recipe, but like most of the people that have made this before I also changed the ingredients. I only used 2 tablespoons of olive oil, only 1 teaspoon of paprika, I omitted the poultry seasoning and added 2 more tablespoons of brown sugar. It was wonderful, the sweet hits your mouth first and then the spicy sneaks up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I've made it just as directed as well as cut back on some of the spices - mostly out of laziness and not wanting to get them all out of the cupboard. The 2nd time I just used brown sugar, onion & garlic powders, cayenne and black pepper. I admit I liked the 2nd version best as the flavors didn't overpower the remainder of the meal however both ways were fantastic. This is going to be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda 'Machmiller' Kiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States