Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was OK. I really like sweet potato so this recipe was fine for me but for others, it may seem flavorless (which is odd because there are so many seasonings). I felt like the seasonings didn't give all that much flavor and the amount made the sweet potato feel almost powdery. Maybe if there were salt added, the flavor of the other seasonings would have been brought out more? The brown sugar was the best seasoning in this. If I were to make it again, I'd add more brown sugar, more poultry seasoning and way less paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Loved this receipe!! Only suggestion, as I like my sweet potatoes cripy is increase baking time or turn on the broiler for a few minutes!! Sooo YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I was also looking for a sweet potato recipe that was not like a dessert, and this fit the bill. I pretty much made it by the recipe, with a few little substitutions - but basically followed the gist of it. I also added chunks of onion, which came out delightfully crispy and yummy. Everything was a bit charred, which is why I'm giving it only four stars. Could it be the sugar? Anyway, like other reviewers have suggested, I think you could adapt this recipe to any number of herb/spice combinations, depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved it. I am not a fan of all the sugary sweet potato recipes and this just hit the spot perfectly. The smell while they cooked was wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
add 1 teaspoon cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Even better; has anybody tried "Red Yams" yet? Better than sweet potato with a more intense flavor and color. Excellent any way you cook them. Love this recipe....It leaves you wide open to get creative with whatever you have and/or feel like. I added Tumeric/Paprika/Coriander seed(crushed)/salt/cayenne. Also mixed in cubed red onions as per a reviewer recommendation. Next time I'm cubing up a turnip and mixing that in also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Easy and tasty, right up my all alley! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These were ok. they lived up to thei. name, Sweet and Spicy. will make them again but not in a rush to do so,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
For years I have been trying to duplicate a sweet potato side dish that came with scollops I ordered in a restaurant. This one sounded so close, I had to try it. The only thing different was the side in the restaurant was mashed, so I baked the taters for 30 minutes, mashed them then added the dry ingredients as listed, replacing the olive oil with butter and no poultry seasoning or chilli powder(I didn't have either). I added the cumin as per the other rated suggestions. I put it back in the oven for about 15 minutes...this plus grilled shrimp, scollops and mushrooms along with roasted brussels sprouts was a VERY tasty way to begin the summer grilling season. Thanks for posting this! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
AMAZEING!!! deffinally going to make again. hubby and sons even used thier bread to dip in the botton of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Riederer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States