Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These were ok. they lived up to thei. name, Sweet and Spicy. will make them again but not in a rush to do so,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
For years I have been trying to duplicate a sweet potato side dish that came with scollops I ordered in a restaurant. This one sounded so close, I had to try it. The only thing different was the side in the restaurant was mashed, so I baked the taters for 30 minutes, mashed them then added the dry ingredients as listed, replacing the olive oil with butter and no poultry seasoning or chilli powder(I didn't have either). I added the cumin as per the other rated suggestions. I put it back in the oven for about 15 minutes...this plus grilled shrimp, scollops and mushrooms along with roasted brussels sprouts was a VERY tasty way to begin the summer grilling season. Thanks for posting this! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
AMAZEING!!! deffinally going to make again. hubby and sons even used thier bread to dip in the botton of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Excellent - I cooked in foil packet on a grill - they came out perfectly cooked along side Christine's Turkey Tenderloins from this site. 1/2 recipe, with one large garnet yam, fed 3 adults as a side dish. Add something green (we did steamed green beans) and you have a great look for an early spring BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I had been looking for an alternative for sweet potatoes, because most of them really should be considered dessert recipes. This one worked nicely. I didn't have any sweet potatoes, so I used beets instead, and I didn't have the spices called for, so I used my own mix, and instead of baking it, I boiled it. Just kidding! What's up with people who review a recipe like that, having completely changed it?! I made it exactly as written, although next time, I will be tempted to try some of the spice variations suggested. After it was done, and after I tasted it, I mixed in some chopped walnuts, because my wife wanted "sweet potatoes with nuts". It was good that way, although I'm sure pecans would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. I've made it many, many times in the oven as directed and it always gets rave reviews. Well tonight we made the recipe on the grill! Turned out fabulous without having to heat up the kitchen. 2 large sweet potatoes made 5 individual packets. Here's what I did: 1) Tear off 5 sheets of tinfoil (approx 10 inches long). 2) Spray each piece of tinfoil with cooking spray. 3) Place cubed potatoes on foil. 4) Sprinkle with spices (I use all the listed ingredients with the exception of substituting red pepper flakes for the cayenne pepper and adding some Old Bay. 5) Sprinkle with brown sugar (about 1/2 tbs per package). 6)Drizzle with olive oil. 7) Make a seam down the center of the foil, pinching together tightly and rolling over. Roll the ends up and seal tightly. 8) Grill on low over direct heat for 45 minutes, turning them over every approx every 15 minutes. The potatoes are probably done at this point, but we left them on the grill with no heat on them while we cooked the meat and veggies, in this case marinated pork chops and corn on the cob (still in the husk). So the sweet potatoes spent another 15 minutes on the grill over just ambient heat. I absolutely LOVE this. I will still make this recipe in the oven during the winter, but will DEFINITELY use this method in the spring / summer when most of our weekend cooking is done on the gas grill :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Used Orange Infused Olive Oil instead of plain olive oil to put it over the top! Also, didn't measure spices, because I was in a hurry, just sprinkled (to lightly cover) with garlic powder, paprika, cinnamon, salt, black pepper, cayenne and at least 3 tablespoons brown sugar. Tossed to be sure evenly coated and baked as directed. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I wanted to try it at 1st "as it is", just went light on the onion-garlic taste I'm not fond of and replaced with ras-el-hanout mix. It was very good, spicy enough but not too much. Everybody loved it. I'm giving a 4 stars though for they were not really crispy (after 20mn oven). Shall surely try again but with 2 changes to suit better my French taste : a little less oil (2 spoons enough)and far less sugar - if ever some...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Even the non-veggie eaters like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
SO easy and SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States