Sweet and Spicy Soup with Black-Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was great. To enjoy this recipe, you need to like flavor-intense tastes. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the cinnamon to about 1/4 teaspoon and it was plenty. I also found more water was needed, so added about an extra cup. Thanks for the delightful recipe!I will certainly make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Exotic and delicious. I used a large fresh yam and 1/2 can diced tomatoes. I left out the onion and garlic powder since the "real things" were already in the soup, and cut the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is a very flavorful, serviceable weeknight soup. For those who think it a bit odd, a similar, sweet potato-tomato soup is very popular in parts of the Carribean. Relying on that experience, I made a few changes in the ingredients and method of preparation. Agreeing with prior reviews, I reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. because it's naturally assertive, eliminated the oregano, basil and rosemary, since it didn't fit the flavor profile and used canned stewed tomatoes. The powdered onion went, too, since there was plenty of fresh. I used minced, seeded, habanero chile in place of the cayenne and crushed red pepper, because it's flavor works well with the other ingredients. I sauteed the spices with the onion, celery and minced garlic,which I doubled. To reduce the sweetness and highlight the sweet potato's natural flavor a bit more, I made sure not to buy "candied" sweet potato. I used bottled roasted pepper, since I had some left over from another dish. I also eliminated the water and used two cups of low sodium broth. Everything was partially hand blended at the end, before adding leftover, shredded roast chicken in the last five minutes of cooking, for a protein boost. Tasty in front of the TV!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leipheim, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Yummy soup! Nice and sweet! And healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Sorry, I'm not a fan of this one. There's too much going on with all the different spices; I think you need to pick a set of spices that compliment each other rather than using a pinch of everything. Also, the cinnamon was a bit overwhelming. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was a lot better than I expected it to be. I love sweet foods, this one was just right. The sweet taste was not too over powering because of the spicy taste that it also gave. I will be making this dish a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Flavor is good... but way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was delicious! The flavor of the broth is similar to a barbecue rub. I thought it needed something green in it, so I added kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Dee-licious! I followed this excellent recipe exactly. The spices & herbs blend to create a wonderful taste. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Edible, but not great. I prefer sweet potato pie and candied sweet potato. I think the main problem is too much cinnamon and not enough other spices. Adding asiago sounds like a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States