Sweet and Spicy Soup with Black-Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Not a fan of black-eyed peas, but this soup is delicious! I used jarred roasted bell pepper, and only used basic spices as suggested. I only used 1/8 tsp. of cayenne with no red pepper flakes, and the kids loved it! My husband added more spice and loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I really don't like being a negative Nelly, but I didn't care for this recipe at all. :O( I followed the recipe as written, so it may just be that I don't like my soups to be sweet. I ended up draining the veggies and freezing them to do something with at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
The flavors meld together beautifully in this soup. The sweet comes in first then the spicy has a strong finish. I did not have garlic or mustard powder. I used dijon mustard, about a teaspoon, and used a fresh sweet potato that I cubed and boiled. The soup was served on New Years Day with sweet corn muffins to my friends. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This soup was freakin' awesome! I used part of a cinnamon stick and about 1 1/2 fresh hot peppers (it was a little spicy). I refrained from taking a pinch of every spice in my cabinet as another reviewer suggested. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars is because the recipe seems a little off with all those pinches. Maybe I'm a jerk but oh well! Stick to the spices that make the soup sweet and spicy and you've got yourself a five star soup indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
pretty good. used fresh sweet taters, otherwise followed the recipe reasonably closely. didn't have a couple of the "secret herbs and spices", but there were so many and frankly, so little of most of them that i can't imagine it made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We really liked this soup. I followed the directions pretty closely, But used real onion and garlic, not dried and did put in most of the other seasonings, all fresh, though. I also used fresh baked sweet potatoes and used less water. I also put in shredded chicken. It really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Made it for New Years Eve...you know good luck to eat B.E.P's and all. Not one person touched it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This stuff is kick *** good. As others have said, omit any powdered spices, and use the seasonings you like. I used the basil, oregano, cumin, coriander and cayenne pepper, and allspice instead of cinnamon. I just used frozen peppers I had on hand. This is such a versatile recipe, I will be sure to have the ingredients in my pantry at all times! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
good stuff, great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Delicious! Wonderful combination of spices and textures. I eliminated the Rosemary and cut back on the cinnimon, added apple chicken sausage and okra. I also substitued the dried pepper spices with a fresh blend of chopped Mexican-style peppers. I added the juice of and a teaspoon of Clementine rind. Finally, I used avocado as a garnish. My family loved it! We served it with French bread. It is very different but should please even picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States