Sweet and Spicy Soup with Black-Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have made this several times since I found it.. Absolutely a keeper. And, contrary to other review, the spices do work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I really liked how filling this soup is, and I like that it's full of healthy beans and sweet potatoes, but it did need some adjustments in the spice department. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe, as written, has too many competing flavors. I could tell by the ingredient list that this would create problems so I left out the onion and mustard powders, the thyme, rosemary, basil, and coriander. Sometimes its best to stick to certain flavors and really let them shine, rather than throwing everything in the pot. Still a very good base recipe for warm, comforting winter soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lula Grable
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I used all the spices listed just in different amounts. I bumped the cumin, cayenne and coriander seeds up to 1/4 teaspoon. I did use freshly crushed coriander seeds for maximum flavor. I used just 1/8 teaspoon for the thyme, basil, oregano and rosemary. Used a pinch of mustard powder and stuck with only fresh onion and garlic instead of water I upped the broth. 2 cans of Swansons chicken broth 2 cans of black eyed peas and I can of diced tomatoes. I cooked 2 sweet potatoes separate then diced them before adding them to the stew. I cooked the onion, garlic, celery and red pepper together to begin. I waited to add the spices until after I added the liquid. I did grill some chicken breasts and diced those up before adding to the stew for a more complete meal. Finally I garnished with fresh cilantro rather than parsley for a brighter flavor. Almost forgot I went ahead and used 1 full teaspoon cinnamon with the tablespoon brown sugar. I didn't think 1/2 tsp. gave it enough flavor. I almost didn't use all the spices but figured that was why I picked this recipe. I wanted to try something really different from my usual fare. This was truly an exotic and wonderful tasting dinner. We will be fixing this again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great recipe, but I made a few changes to adapt to the spices I had in the pantry. I used two pinches of Herbs de Provence instead of the Rosemary , thyme, oregano, and basil. Added more fresh garlic instead of the powdered stuff. Used Two onions and two stalks of celery. Used canned diced tomatoes and dried black eyed peas. Also fresh sweet potatoes. Used one teaspoon of Korean Pepper flakes no Cayenne pepper. ALso Chicken broth instead of Veggie broth. THis is a great recipe. Lots of flavors and room for your own adjustments. Tastes like a sweet chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this soup for a Friday night soup supper during Lent and people inhaled it. It is sooooo good! I am making it again tonight for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Made this last night and honestly made adjustments simply because of what I had on hand vs. going to the store. I used 2 cans of black beans drained, 1/4 can diced tomatoes, oven roasted fresh sweet potato along with the red pepper in a little olive oil, gave it some extra fire roasted taste. Skipped the mustard, onion, and garlic powder and added a little extra garlic. Very tasty, something I would definately make again because I usually have all on hand. Would be good served with some brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I really enjoyed the flavor combination in this dish. I didn't use every pitch, but I happened to have most of the ingredients, so I used the ones I had. Nice Vegan Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
All I can say is Yummy!!! I made some tweaks to the recipe, but was asked to make this again... I used fresh sweet potatoes and sauteed them with the other veggies. I also used fresh black eyed peas. There wasn't enough liquid so I added 4 cups of veggie broth and 4 cups of chicken broth. We also chopped up a whole jalapeno, seeds and all to make it spicier... I didn't add the garlic or onion powder since I added fresh, but added dried cilantro and parsley. Last but not least, I used fire roasted canned tomatoes instead of fresh ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wonderjane
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was looking for a way to use some leftover baked sweet potato rounds when this recipe caught my eye. I followed the recipe fairly closely though l too reworked the spices using 1/2 tsp. each oregano, cumin and cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes, 1 bay leaf, 1 tsp dried cilantro (didn't have fresh on hand) plus S & P and fresh parsley. The charred red bell is a must! Rather than fresh plum tomatoes I used a 15 oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes thinking it was more in line with the other flavors. Also used chicken broth (1 can) + 1 cup water rather than veggie broth since that's what I had on hand. My family I thought it was very tasty! A little spicy-hot but not too much so. Next time I'll try adding a couple handfuls of frozen corn as I think it has a somewhat Mexican flavor. Certainly black beans rather than BEP's could be used. Could easily be altered slightly to give a more cajun-like flare too. Maybe add shrimp? Overall, this recipe has "nice bones" and with a little imagination is very versitile. Good job, Amanda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was a very tasty soup and I will make it again! This was my first time eating Black-Eyed Peas. Just a quick note- I found that I had to cook the soup for about 3-4 hours to soften the Black Eyed peas. I had soaked them overnight. Normally I cook my soup in a crock, however this time I made it on the stove and I also found that I needed to keep adding water. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States