Sweet and Spicy Soup with Black-Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was really yummy. I did leave out some of the herbs, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
My family loved this recipe. I made the 'Big Rey' version and it was easy, filling and delicious. I am looking forward to trying it cold tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious! Even my husband, who HATES sweet potatoes, liked it! I did make a few changes, but nothing major. I just omitted some of the spices and, per my dad's suggestion, had some Hot Madras curry powder on the table so diners could season their stew to taste - the curry powder really did add just the right flavor. The spices I kept were the bay leaves, garlic (fresh), thyme, rosemary (fresh), brown sugar, cumin, salt, red pepper, cayenne pepper, and parsley as garnish. I think next time I may substitute cilantro for parsley. I also just sauteed the red pepper rather than baking it to draw out the sweetness, because I just don't have the patience for that. This soup is savory, sweet, and not overly complex with some spices omitted. Thanks to AMANDA1432 for submitting this recipe! It's brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Used 2 small fresh sweet potatoes, one regular tomtato, and a whole red pepper. I used 4 cups of broth instead of the 1 cup of water and 1 cup of broth - with the increased amounts of other ingredients it was needed. I didn't put in the oregano, basil, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, and mustard powder. I kept the same amount of cinnamon, but then I love the taste so I didn't find it strong. I also increased the amount of cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon - I generally like my food spicier than recipes give. I cooked 3 breasts of chicken in the soup when it was simmering and then cut them into strips when cooked. I liked that this made it heartier and absorbed some of the extra liquid I used. With the modifications made, I really like this soup - the family agrees, although my mum found it too spicy for her liking - but this was because of my modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very wonderful and healthful! Great for a New Year's Day dinner. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Wow, so so so good! I followed "Big Rev"s suggestions of reducing the cinnamon, leaving out some spices, sautéing the spices with the onions, adding chicken, and skipping the water and using all broth. I still think there should be more broth, so I'd probably go with 3 cups next time. I did not add the bell pepper (I am allergic), and I did not have Cumin or coriander so I substituted with a pinch of curry powder which has both in it. I also used a fresh sweet potato instead of canned (just simmer it 45 minutes instead of 20). I found in my store's produce section "reconstituted" black eyed peas (brand name Melissa’s) which basically just saved me having to soak the dried peas overnight (I don’t like the canned version). All in all, this was a tasty dish and I plan to make it again for a dinner party in a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Really enjoyed this recipe. We ended up making it with fresh beans and fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned beans and sweet potatoes, and it was delicious! Already shared with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is a very good vegan soup. My husband the carnivore even likes it. I think it is much better made with meat broth and to add a little meat also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Beautiful! Thank you Big Rey, for your review, as I took your lead and I'm so glad I did. I used vegetable broth instead of water; didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand, so used diced, and used roasted red peppers. I can't imagine how it would taste if I used any more than 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. That was enough. Once it was done, I pureed half of the soup ~ it looks, smells, and tastes absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I completely agree with the other reviewers - what on earth was up with that huge list of spices? I focused only on the sweet and spicy, stopping after the red pepper flakes, but I did throw in about a teaspoon of freshly ground cumin. Being a cinnamon fanatic, the amount didn't bother me, but I do see how others would have found it overpowering. Nonetheless, the soup was really quite good - I pureed it a bit and served it with some Greek-style yoghurt. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States