Sweet and Spicy Soup with Black-Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Not a fan of black-eyed peas, but this soup is delicious! I used jarred roasted bell pepper, and only used basic spices as suggested. I only used 1/8 tsp. of cayenne with no red pepper flakes, and the kids loved it! My husband added more spice and loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I really don't like being a negative Nelly, but I didn't care for this recipe at all. :O( I followed the recipe as written, so it may just be that I don't like my soups to be sweet. I ended up draining the veggies and freezing them to do something with at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
The flavors meld together beautifully in this soup. The sweet comes in first then the spicy has a strong finish. I did not have garlic or mustard powder. I used dijon mustard, about a teaspoon, and used a fresh sweet potato that I cubed and boiled. The soup was served on New Years Day with sweet corn muffins to my friends. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This soup was freakin' awesome! I used part of a cinnamon stick and about 1 1/2 fresh hot peppers (it was a little spicy). I refrained from taking a pinch of every spice in my cabinet as another reviewer suggested. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars is because the recipe seems a little off with all those pinches. Maybe I'm a jerk but oh well! Stick to the spices that make the soup sweet and spicy and you've got yourself a five star soup indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
pretty good. used fresh sweet taters, otherwise followed the recipe reasonably closely. didn't have a couple of the "secret herbs and spices", but there were so many and frankly, so little of most of them that i can't imagine it made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We really liked this soup. I followed the directions pretty closely, But used real onion and garlic, not dried and did put in most of the other seasonings, all fresh, though. I also used fresh baked sweet potatoes and used less water. I also put in shredded chicken. It really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Made it for New Years Eve...you know good luck to eat B.E.P's and all. Not one person touched it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This stuff is kick *** good. As others have said, omit any powdered spices, and use the seasonings you like. I used the basil, oregano, cumin, coriander and cayenne pepper, and allspice instead of cinnamon. I just used frozen peppers I had on hand. This is such a versatile recipe, I will be sure to have the ingredients in my pantry at all times! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
good stuff, great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Delicious! Wonderful combination of spices and textures. I eliminated the Rosemary and cut back on the cinnimon, added apple chicken sausage and okra. I also substitued the dried pepper spices with a fresh blend of chopped Mexican-style peppers. I added the juice of and a teaspoon of Clementine rind. Finally, I used avocado as a garnish. My family loved it! We served it with French bread. It is very different but should please even picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States