Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dayna Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Amazing dinner. Wasn't sure how the salsa would taste but it was perfect with the rub. Couldn't find a grapefruit so I subbed a navel orange and it was still delicious. Paired the entire meal with a side salad of mixed greens, cucumbers, sliced red onions topped with pine nuts, dried cranberries, and a raspberry vinaigrette. I'll definitely be making this again sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna Joan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was interesting and good but not great. I made the salsa and rub exactly as directed except for using half the rub since I kept the skin. I didn't think I could stick that much to one side and this amount covered the top and side in a full layer. I also do not use corn oil so I subbed another mild oil. We grilled this, skin side down, for 15 min at about 375 and I am glad we did not use the full amount of rub as it would have been too much. It was a nice compliment to the salmon and the heat was quite mild except for aggravating an already tender throat. Not at all hot on the tongue though. We love grapefruit and didn't find this one to be bitter, sweet/tart would be a better description(I always remove the membrane from grapefruit) but the fish rub combined with the salsa at some times was bitter even though the salsa wasn't on it's own. I wouldn't make the salsa again- it was okay but not as good as other fruit salsas we've had and seemed to be lacking something. Perhaps using sweeter fruits, as others have done, makes for a better combo. As written, I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Use mango/pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic Recipe...one of the best for salmon that I have tried. I doubled the rub and used the extra to make a thicker topping. The mazola really worked to help the rub/topping stick to the salmon. Overall delicious combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I really changed this one up. We don't like salmon or spicy stuff. I didn't make the salsa either. But with that being said, I got a tilapia filet and used the other flavors just as posted and it was terrific! One of my boyfriends favorite recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I like the rub! Tasty and flavorful. As for the grapefruit salsa, I think it is a good complement to the salmon. I cheated and sprinkled about 1/4 tsp sugar so it isn't that sour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a winner all around. If you've never sectioned a grapefruit before (with a knife), google for directions. So much better than peeling the grapefruit and pulling apart the sections that covered in the membrane that can be tough to chew. This was not spicy at all. Next time I will add more cayenne to get a bit of heat This would also be very good grilled. Instead of baking at 375 for 15-20 mins, I much prefer the flavor of broiling it for 10-12 mins. This gives it a nicer crust with moist center. Do not overcook salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I tried this out tonight and was pleasantly surprised... I left the salsa on the side just in case I didn't like it etc but I found that the rub on the fish was a bit bitter and the salsa is what makes it. I think the rub needs a little less paprika but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This had outstanding flavor. We used pink grapefruit from our tree which made making the salsa rather labor intensive. Will make again, but will use canned grapefruit sections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was something new that we tried. It was great with mashed potatoes and a nice green salad. Next time for the rub I will use less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States