Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This review is actually ore of a 4.5 than a 4, except we took considerable liberties with the fruit salsa. We replaced the grapefruit with diced mango, added an additional jalepeno and made a "dressing" of lime juice and honey which complimented the rubbed salmon wonderfully. We applied the rub about 15-20 minutes before cooking and let it sit uncovered at room temp. The salmon with just the rub was great but then topped with the mango salsa really turned it into a grilled feast-one I'd be proud to serve to guests! I also loved the fact that we were able to prepare it with already having had the majority of the ingredients on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
The only problem with this recipe is that the salmon is sweet and the salsa isn't. Fish shouldn't be sweet, and salsa is flexible. Grapefruit adds a subtle sweetness, but it doesn't taste nasty with the fish. It's pleasantly bitter and tangy and everything good. Drop the brown sugar from the salmon, and the recipe would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Deliciously nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dayna Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Amazing dinner. Wasn't sure how the salsa would taste but it was perfect with the rub. Couldn't find a grapefruit so I subbed a navel orange and it was still delicious. Paired the entire meal with a side salad of mixed greens, cucumbers, sliced red onions topped with pine nuts, dried cranberries, and a raspberry vinaigrette. I'll definitely be making this again sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna Joan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was interesting and good but not great. I made the salsa and rub exactly as directed except for using half the rub since I kept the skin. I didn't think I could stick that much to one side and this amount covered the top and side in a full layer. I also do not use corn oil so I subbed another mild oil. We grilled this, skin side down, for 15 min at about 375 and I am glad we did not use the full amount of rub as it would have been too much. It was a nice compliment to the salmon and the heat was quite mild except for aggravating an already tender throat. Not at all hot on the tongue though. We love grapefruit and didn't find this one to be bitter, sweet/tart would be a better description(I always remove the membrane from grapefruit) but the fish rub combined with the salsa at some times was bitter even though the salsa wasn't on it's own. I wouldn't make the salsa again- it was okay but not as good as other fruit salsas we've had and seemed to be lacking something. Perhaps using sweeter fruits, as others have done, makes for a better combo. As written, I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Use mango/pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic Recipe...one of the best for salmon that I have tried. I doubled the rub and used the extra to make a thicker topping. The mazola really worked to help the rub/topping stick to the salmon. Overall delicious combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I really changed this one up. We don't like salmon or spicy stuff. I didn't make the salsa either. But with that being said, I got a tilapia filet and used the other flavors just as posted and it was terrific! One of my boyfriends favorite recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I like the rub! Tasty and flavorful. As for the grapefruit salsa, I think it is a good complement to the salmon. I cheated and sprinkled about 1/4 tsp sugar so it isn't that sour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a winner all around. If you've never sectioned a grapefruit before (with a knife), google for directions. So much better than peeling the grapefruit and pulling apart the sections that covered in the membrane that can be tough to chew. This was not spicy at all. Next time I will add more cayenne to get a bit of heat This would also be very good grilled. Instead of baking at 375 for 15-20 mins, I much prefer the flavor of broiling it for 10-12 mins. This gives it a nicer crust with moist center. Do not overcook salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States