Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These are so good! Barely out of the oven, and I have tasted them a half a dozen times. I did double the batch, along with adding a few pine nuts and hazel nuts. I used 3 egg whites with 3 tsps. of vanilla, along with 3/4 cup of dark brown sugar and white sugar, 1/2 tsp. of salt, 2 tsps. of cinnamon, 2 tsps. of chili powder, and a heaping tsp. of cayenne. Such an easy recipe, and the next time I make this, I will quadruple the amount so there will be enough to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made a third of this recipe to see how I'd like it, and I will make some more. The directions are very easy to follow, and the nuts turn out just like you think--evenly coated with the mixture. You could easily change out the seasonings in the sugar, and I'm thinking I'd like a little cayenne to accompany the flavors next time. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My first batch turned out good but not spicy enough. My second batch was sweet and it wasn't until you finished chewing and swallowed before the spicyness hit. They were goooood. I making my third batch now. If almonds weren't so stinkin expensive I'd make more!!! They are very high in protein and nutritious (or at least in my mind they're nutritious :-)... great snack tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Way too much sugar! I reduced it to 1/4 white and 1/4 brown and it was still sweet. Maybe it would have been better with more salt too to balance the sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Made these as others did with half the sugar, however kept the spice measurements the same. Absolutely wonderful! Makes a perfect homemade gift. A keeper for sure...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe came out great! I used peanuts & almonds and cut both the sugars in half and added a bit more chili powder for more kick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Can I add fresh rosemary to make it more savory? Will it burn? Maybe leave out the cinnamon? I had dine almonds like this & vowed I would figure out how to make them at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Oliver
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I also halved sugars. And didnt hav cayenne so added abt 1/2 teasp Chipolte. OMGosh Sooooo Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Oh my! these are amazing! I will be making a bunch more. I used half the sugar, and some peppers I dried, from my garden, yum! I am going to send some to my son serving, in Afghanistan. perhaps with a bit more spice. love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for gifts for pastor and a teacher. Pastor's wife told me they were great; their kids enjoyed them too and asked for recipe. I did it exactly as listed. There didn't seem to be much spice though. I think I saw somewhere you can add cayenne pepper? I may try that next time. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States