Sweet and Spicy Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I recently made these for a gathering and everyone loved them! Kids loved the sweetness and adults loved the combo. I tried to figure out a way to not have them stick together like some of the other reviews said happened and I took i egg white and beat it till foamy and coated the nuts in it before coating w/ seasonings & this helped the nuts from sticking together that much. Once cooked I placed them on a flat sheet of wax paper and separated them all till dry. the one's that stuck were great though because it was like a sweet nut cluster! Great for parties!!! Thanks Karla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe sounded a little funky, but turns out great. Once you start eating these spicy nuts you can't stop. This is a perfect recipe to put out at a cocktail party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I really like this recipe. The idea about using egg white sounded helpful as it doesn't uniformly coat the nuts. It doesn't interfere with the yummy taste at all though! It is a real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Excellent - my friends rave about these nuts. If using salted nuts - omit the extra salt in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I wasn't quite sure about this recipe as I was making it, because the sugar seemed to get quite brown and clump, but I put a double batch out at my cocktail party last night and they were such a big hit that they're all gone! The flavour was so nice! One of my friends ate about a quarter of them alone and had fun trying to guess what all the spices in them were. I will definitely be making these again, though perhaps with some modifications so that the sugar glazes the nuts more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used cayenne instead of cumin , a little butter, and some honey.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Okay, I read the reviews and went "Hmmmmmmm", so, I did it my way, and these were great. Frist, I used canned nuts, not raw, didn't heat them, and left out the salt since they were already salted. Then I mixed together all the sugar and spices, but not the nuts, in a non-stick saucepan. I added 2 teaspoons of water to the sugar/spice mixture to help dissolve everything, then when it just started to boil, I put the nuts in and kept stirring for about 3 minutes. Then, I put the nuts in a bowl and microwaved for 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds. This way, all the nuts were not only coated, but glazed as well. When they were cool, they didn't stick together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
These were a great addition to the appetizer assortment preceding a spicy low-country boil. A few changes made all the difference. I started with a can of salted mixed nuts and reduced the salt in the recipe. I added a small dollop of butter to the sugar recipe, and waited until the sugar began to melt before adding in nuts. Took time to separate and dry on waxed paper, without being too picky that every single nut was separated. Both kids and adults liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Definitely follow the suggestions of the other reviewers and add a couple teaspoons of water to the sugar mix. I also changed the spices because I dislike cumin and I didn't think curry was the taste I was going for on these; follow your tastebuds. I roasted almonds, added them to the melted sugar/spice mix (with water added) and stirred until the nuts were well coated and there was no more glaze at the bottom of my pan. Then I threw them back in the oven (spread out well on parchment paper) for another 10 minutes until the glaze had set well. They didn't stick together and they are very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
i read the reviews and changed the recipe. i made this with some old pistachios. i cooked the nuts on a pan with a tbsp butter. then, i made the sauce with the spice measurements stated, but i used 1.5 tbsp water, and used splenda instead of the sugar. i also added about 6 light shakes of cayenne pepper (should have added more). then, stirred sauce on nuts, and baked at 350 for 10 min. they are pretty good. i liked the curry spice in it that some reviewers said was weird. just thought they were not spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States