Sweet and Spicy Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Okay, I read the reviews and went "Hmmmmmmm", so, I did it my way, and these were great. Frist, I used canned nuts, not raw, didn't heat them, and left out the salt since they were already salted. Then I mixed together all the sugar and spices, but not the nuts, in a non-stick saucepan. I added 2 teaspoons of water to the sugar/spice mixture to help dissolve everything, then when it just started to boil, I put the nuts in and kept stirring for about 3 minutes. Then, I put the nuts in a bowl and microwaved for 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds. This way, all the nuts were not only coated, but glazed as well. When they were cool, they didn't stick together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was a terrible recipe as originally written. I wasted 3 lbs of nuts before I modified the recipe enough to get desirable results. The spice mix needs 2 tsp. of liquid to adequately melt the sugars so the nuts will be coated. Although the mix smelled GREAT, there was not enough flavor so I also added 3/4 tsp of cayenne to get a spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
The sugar completely ruins the flavor and they weren't that spicy. The nuts came out in burnt globs even though I kept a constant eye on them and stirred them often. The nutmeg and clove turned bitter in the oven. I ended up throwing the entire batch out, because even the nuts that didn't burn had a bitter taste to them. I'll keep looking for a better spicy glazed nut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I made some changes: added 1 egg white to coat the nuts 3/4 t. cayene pepper to add zing increased cumin to 1 T reduced salt to 1/2 t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This was an easy to make recipe, though I didn't get the mixture to spread over the nuts very well. I tried it a couple of times, b/c it was so easy. My friends weren't fans of it, but it's good for a change of scene. My friends and I are nut people, and I guess we prefer the salt to the sweet/spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
No one liked these! Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This didn't melt well. Also I had to stir constantly or I would have had 2 cups of burned nuts! Next time I'd try adding a tsp or so of water to get the sugar to melt properly and it might be more like a glazed nut. Taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I recently made these for a gathering and everyone loved them! Kids loved the sweetness and adults loved the combo. I tried to figure out a way to not have them stick together like some of the other reviews said happened and I took i egg white and beat it till foamy and coated the nuts in it before coating w/ seasonings & this helped the nuts from sticking together that much. Once cooked I placed them on a flat sheet of wax paper and separated them all till dry. the one's that stuck were great though because it was like a sweet nut cluster! Great for parties!!! Thanks Karla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Sorry but,this was one of the worst recipes I have made.It smells great but that is about it.The sugar doen't melt completely and then it clumps so all the nuts do not get coated and the ones that do don't get coated evenly.Doesn't taste bad,but maybe if it had a medium to bind the spice mixture to the nut it would work better.Hopefully I can save the nuts by using them in another spiced nut recipe.2 cups of nuts is not enough for 16 servings even if its just set out in a bowl for nibbling. Mari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Two Thumbs DOWN! This was something I decided to try since I had some extra almonds and peanuts lying around. My boyfriend loves nuts so he was really anxious to try them. In the very beginning I thought the recipe sounded odd with no liquid - its virtually impossible to melt sugar without a liquid or a flamethrower! I attempted them anyway and I smelled the sugar burning. I hurried to the fridge to grab something fast and threw in a tablespoon of butter to loosen things up. What I ended up with was clumps of peanuts, almonds, and lots of little brown clumps that taste like burned sugar and curry. Horrific. Follow everyone elses advice and coat your nuts in egg whites first, then add some cayenne to the other spices. Forget about the clove - its overpowered by the cumin and curry. Better yet, just find a recipe for candied nuts and add some cayenne to the mix - it worked for me and my Christmas Pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States