Sweet and Spicy Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe sounded a little funky, but turns out great. Once you start eating these spicy nuts you can't stop. This is a perfect recipe to put out at a cocktail party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
These nuts taste good but the ingredients did not melt like I thought they should. It got clumpy. Not all the nuts got the seasoning on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Sorry but,this was one of the worst recipes I have made.It smells great but that is about it.The sugar doen't melt completely and then it clumps so all the nuts do not get coated and the ones that do don't get coated evenly.Doesn't taste bad,but maybe if it had a medium to bind the spice mixture to the nut it would work better.Hopefully I can save the nuts by using them in another spiced nut recipe.2 cups of nuts is not enough for 16 servings even if its just set out in a bowl for nibbling. Mari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This was an easy to make recipe, though I didn't get the mixture to spread over the nuts very well. I tried it a couple of times, b/c it was so easy. My friends weren't fans of it, but it's good for a change of scene. My friends and I are nut people, and I guess we prefer the salt to the sweet/spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I recently made these for a gathering and everyone loved them! Kids loved the sweetness and adults loved the combo. I tried to figure out a way to not have them stick together like some of the other reviews said happened and I took i egg white and beat it till foamy and coated the nuts in it before coating w/ seasonings & this helped the nuts from sticking together that much. Once cooked I placed them on a flat sheet of wax paper and separated them all till dry. the one's that stuck were great though because it was like a sweet nut cluster! Great for parties!!! Thanks Karla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I really like this recipe. The idea about using egg white sounded helpful as it doesn't uniformly coat the nuts. It doesn't interfere with the yummy taste at all though! It is a real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Okay, I read the reviews and went "Hmmmmmmm", so, I did it my way, and these were great. Frist, I used canned nuts, not raw, didn't heat them, and left out the salt since they were already salted. Then I mixed together all the sugar and spices, but not the nuts, in a non-stick saucepan. I added 2 teaspoons of water to the sugar/spice mixture to help dissolve everything, then when it just started to boil, I put the nuts in and kept stirring for about 3 minutes. Then, I put the nuts in a bowl and microwaved for 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds. This way, all the nuts were not only coated, but glazed as well. When they were cool, they didn't stick together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Excellent - my friends rave about these nuts. If using salted nuts - omit the extra salt in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This didn't melt well. Also I had to stir constantly or I would have had 2 cups of burned nuts! Next time I'd try adding a tsp or so of water to get the sugar to melt properly and it might be more like a glazed nut. Taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I made some changes: added 1 egg white to coat the nuts 3/4 t. cayene pepper to add zing increased cumin to 1 T reduced salt to 1/2 t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States