Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband. I have a recipe for spicy green beans, but its a lot more work - friends call my beans "Crack Beans" and my husband said he liked these better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe. Have used it several times. Once I even added thin sliced beef and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner. I've been searching for something like the Szechuan style green beans in get the Asian fusion restaurants here in Minneapolis. This one just about hit the nail right on the head. It was not as spicy as I'd like, I like SPICY foods so I'll probably add a quarter teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes but I loved the salty, spicy, sweet taste of the recipe. It was really outstanding and easy to make. If you do it, don't bother steaming the beans, it's a total waste of time. Just sauté them with a little canola oil, a light sprinkle of salt and Black pepper, and add your sauce mixture at the end. This was my first time sautéing green beans and I overcooked them a bit. Just remember it takes a few minutes foe the sauce to reduce and there's quite a bit of steam while it does which accelerates the cooking of the beans. Put the sauce in a little earlier than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shad Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Utah, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These green beans are awesome! They have a great flavor which resembles that of Asian cuisine. I subbed 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. chili powder for the sauce and it worked great. Thank you for the fresh, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I will NEVER eat greean beans any other way..OUTSTANDING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtraceyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is the first 5-stars my husband has ever given. He said these were the best green beans he'd ever had. We had them with salmon and rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Made these the other night and everyone loved them. I only added some onions. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Simply awesome. I should have made about 6x as much as called for. I just doubled the recipe, but wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I had to improvise it with a couple things, but it still came out great! I used frozen green beans instead of fresh, I used a little extra crushed garlic from a bottle instead of a fresh garlic clove, I substituted Agave for honey, and I used red pepper powder and a tad more of the garlic because I didn't have any sauce. It came out a little salty, but I threw in some shrimp and it balanced it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I tried this last night and it was phenomenal! And, as another reviewer said, this side is fantastic cold also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States