Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kimiko Proctor
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These were DELICIOUS!!!! The best green bean recipe ever! I didn't have garlic chili sauce, only a popular brand chili sauce and it was still delicious. I added an extra clove of garlic to try to compensate. I used olive oil instead of canola, and I skipped steaming them. My husband and I like our green beans on the crunchier side, so I just cooked them in the skillet with the oil and garlic, then when they were about done added the rest of the mixture. I cooked for maybe 2 minutes more and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
The chili sauce in this recipe is not the flavor of spiced-up ketchup or a bowl of chili. It's the ORIENTAL sauce in a jar: chili garlic sauce. I didn't have any, but it was still pretty good. Not spicy at all, but that's to be expected. I'll try this one again with all the ingredients. (WOW, I can add to this review weeks later! :D) Got the right ingredient - chili garlic sauce - & it is very good. This is one we'll use over & over. My three stars earlier is now four & a half. What the heck, I'll give it a five. This one's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
5+ I served it for dinner and we liked it. I had made quite a bit since we love green beans. The next day I took the leftovers out and tasted it while it was cold. I loved it!!! I served it that way to our company and they loved it too and wanted the recipe. I am planning to make a tray of it and serve it cold as part of the appetizers for the next cookout. You can't go wrong with this recipe - either warm or cold! Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is so easy & tastes great! I made it once and was hooked.I like it more spicy so I use a tablespoon of the chili sauce and add more garlic. I have also used frozen whole green beans when the fresh ones are out of season or too expensive and they work well too. If I use frozen ones, I put them right into the fry pan and start on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
this recipe is easy and quick, yet tastes incredible. i also use it on asparagus tips nad it is just as good as with the beans. i have 1 variation and 1 suggestion. variation: i had no garlic chili sauce, so i substitute the sauce with equal portions if garlic powder and chili powder, and the difference is scarce, if any. suggestion: don't let most of the sauce evaporate, if you like having sauce, it's just something simple to add right before you serve or to serve as a gravy on the side that can be added to other menu items. the recipe makes plenty of liquid sauce that you don't have to cook the beans until it evaporates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
If I could give this more than 5 stars it would. Tastes just like something from an asian restaraunt! By far the best recipe ive gotten from allrecipes yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This sauce is absolutely wonderful. I've made it for all kinds of veggies! (Green beans, asparagus, green peppers etc.) Last night I had left over egg noodles so I cut up some green pepper and carrots and tripled this sauce and cooked it together. Wow - what an awesome side. You can't go wrong making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYSAN01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Yum used frozen whole green beans added to oil in pan straight from the bag. I used a tad more garlic 4 cloves Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
It was good but there was something missing, a depth or fullness in the flavor. That was easily fixed with a tablespoon of sesame oil with the canola oil, which you can really replace with any oil, and a teaspoon of oyster sauce in the soy mixture. Then this recipe was out of this world. I had it with an asian marinated steak, which I love,and I liked this even better. I was mopping up the leftover sauce with the steak to get the rest of the flavor. I also added onions and red peppers. I made the full recipe, was eating alone and there were no leftovers of the veggies but there was of the steak. You can really do this with any veggies. Next I plan to make an asian chicken scampi out of this. I've never been a major veggie fan, always having been a meat eater. This recipe has changed that. I'll be trying this will all sorts of veggies, meats, chicken and pasta. Try it out for yourself and you'll agree. I had to add this. I'm loving this sauce and using it so much I make it in larger batches, putting it in a jar and spooning it out as needed so I don't have to keep making all the time. Tonight I sauted some onions and red peppers in it and had it on my turkey sandwich. Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I added onion to mine and it made the perfect side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States