Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I did reduce the amount of honey by half and used tamarin in lieu or soy sauce as we cook gluten-free. I will definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good recipe and very easy. I added a few chopped mushroom stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love it! I don't like spicy but I had tried the spicy edamame at a sushi restaurant and couldn't get enough. So I made this recipe with edamame in place of the green beans and it was almost an exact match! Hubby even liked it and he shares my aversion to spicy foods. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. I make this all the time and could skip the main course and eat these out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These green beans have a similar taste to ones that I LOVE from an Asian restaurant in town. They are easy and quick, and use indredients I already had on hand. Also, if you have anyone who is not up for the (mild) spiciness of this dish, it is easy to simply scoop out some freshly steamed beans and serve them as is, or with some other preparation, before putting the beans in to stir-fry with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Quick, easy, to die for. I didn't have garlic chili sauce, so I added a bit extra garlic and chili oil. Also, I always use Olive oil. I have made this recipe more times than I remember and the family always asks for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I accidentally defrosted 1/2 lb. of haricots verts and needed to use them quickly. This recipe did the trick and then some. My chili oil doesn't have garlic so I added extra fresh garlic. I couldn't get the lid off the honey jar so used blue agave for the sweetening. I only use olive oil. None of that seemed to detract from this recipe at all. Now I did have to cook the beans longer because they were rubbery when I followed the time guidelines, but that just gave the sauce more time to integrate with the beans. I'll make this with fresh beans next time and the time after that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Fantastic! I used frozen instead of fresh green beans, sugar instead of honey, and sri racha instead of garlic chili sauce. Same diff! This is a very sneaky way to infuse some Asian flavor into a home-cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added corn starch to make the sauce in this dish a little bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States