Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I do add a 2nd can of chickpeas if using the 2lbs of meat....the time I only made it w/1lb was a big mistake,as I can't stand not having leftovers of this dish.I have always used the Thai style sweet chili sauce,as that's what I thought was being called for,but based on comments,I wonder if I was supposed to b using the very different Heinz ketchupy chili sauce (doesn't matter because I'll never change it now) Like others suggest,I use the remainder coconut milk when cooking up jasmine rice to serve this with. I also like to top it w/a lil cilantro & chopped peanuts,if handy. The brands of (reg)curry powder out there,I found out,vary greatly in heat factor,some not spicy at all....I didn't know this,& the type I use here is spicy compared to what I've bought before....that's ok,the flavour is so good,& the heat is balanced by the addition (I guiltily added to recipe) of some raisins & diced mango.... Despite the heat,my kids always ask for 2nds(not to step on toes,but the addition of the fruit is Wonderful!) so forgive me if I did add my own spin,but thank u SO much for what has become one of my most favourite dishes(& this from a gal who IS NOT a ground turkey fan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this last night for dinner but used chicken thighs instead. Delicious! Quick, easy and tremendous flavor. I used one of the other poster's suggestion and used the extra coconut milk in the Jasmine rice that accompanied this dish so well. I not only made it last night, but am making it again tonight- a double batch this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Soooo good . Spicy, flavourful, and delicious. My husband is not a big fan of curry so this was not that great to him but I thought it was excellent .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Used 2.5 cups leftover Thanksgiving turkey, finely shredded; was lucky to find sweet chili sauce at Krogers. Added about 2/3 cup raisins, increased coconut milk to 2/3 cup, and used the rest in the rice. Served with mango chutney. It was a lively and interesting dish, and a great way to use up leftover turkey. Very tasty. Will I make it again? Probably not. Too many other recipes to try, but I do highly recommend trying this. It may turn out to be one your favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe but I did make lots of changes as follows: 0) used bacon grease to cook up onion 1) did not use turkey - didn't have 2) used a whole can of coconut milk plus at least one cup of chicken broth 3) threw in 1 cup rice and cooked it in sauce 4) did not use chili sauce - didn't have 5) added peas at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Fairly easy and fast to make for a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
My husband loved it more than me... but I did modify slightly. I did not have an onion so I used granulated onion. I also used a suggestion for homemade sweet chili sauce and made mine with ketchup, soy sauce, sriracha, and sugar. I also used almond milk since I didn't have any coconut milk - this was surprisingly effective! :) All in all it was pretty good. We had a jar of mango ginger chutney from Trader Joe's that my husband used on top of the curry to enhance the flavor even more. This is a good base recipe. I will try it again and make some more modifications. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Followed the recipe except only used 1 lb of turkey and added a little bit of cumin. Flavor profile was alright, but seemed to be lacking something, and wasn't as complex as other curries I've made from this site. It did come together quickly, which is nice for a weeknight dinner, and worked well over rice, as it was a bit soupy. Tasted better the next day and even the day after that - I guess a couple of days let the flavors marinade awhile, and I thought it was better than fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Even after reading the good reviews, I was skeptical about this recipe as it looked a bit of an odd combination. Anyway, it turned out delicious - the whole family devoured it. It was easy to make too. I added some chopped fresh red pepper and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Really delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States