Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Spicy, hot & delish. Mostly followed the ingredients but changed up some measurements. Used 1 lb. 99% fat-free ground turkey breasts; 10 oz. diced tomatoes w/ habanero peppers (only use habanero option if you want to spike the heat); lite coconut milk. Eliminated the sesame oil and sautéed turkey, onion & garlic in Better Than Bouillon, Chicken Base. These changes eliminated some fat making it an even healthier version, and it’s still great tasting. The recipe as written seems to have more turkey than necessary so you may want to decrease the amount or, if using the 2 lbs., at least up the garbanzo beans as others have suggested. Thank you Marcia for a fantastic recipe! UPDATE: This has become a repeat winner for us. I now add 1 cup of jumbo mixed raisins when stirring in the garbanzo beans. If you prefer firmer raisins, add during last 5 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious. I forgot to use the garlic and it didn't matter. I also left the turkey out. This dish tastes amazing and is so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is so delicious. I have been searching for a beautiful saucey curry dish like this to make at home. My husband and I love these flavors and I am so pleased with how it turned out. I served over jasmine rice and I used the remaining coconut milk in the rice...great combo!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I like it because it's quick, easy, tasty and healthy. Next time I think I may add raisins or mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
May have been because I used madras curry, but I didn't care for this recipe. Also it was too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a keeper! Yummm...makes my mouth hum. I followed other's tips. Made my own 1/2 c sweet chili sauce (ketchup, honey & Sriracha); used 2 cans garbanzo (1 might have been fine) and 1 cup lite coconut milk. Did it all in my electric skillet. Put over rice. Fast, delicious, one-of-a-kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was a big hit for the whole family! We'll definitely be making this dish again, next time with more chickpeas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe but I did make lots of changes as follows: 0) used bacon grease to cook up onion 1) did not use turkey - didn't have 2) used a whole can of coconut milk plus at least one cup of chicken broth 3) threw in 1 cup rice and cooked it in sauce 4) did not use chili sauce - didn't have 5) added peas at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe !! I changed the canned tomatoes for real ones, added curry paste instead of plain powder, and added cubes of tofu instead of the meat. It was really great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Renaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just made this, did not change a thing. OMG this is awesome! I absolutely love the flavors. 8 points on WW but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States