Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe !! I changed the canned tomatoes for real ones, added curry paste instead of plain powder, and added cubes of tofu instead of the meat. It was really great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just made this, did not change a thing. OMG this is awesome! I absolutely love the flavors. 8 points on WW but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
WOW I'm so impressed! I would order this in a restaurant and can't believe that now I can actually MAKE it! Thanks for a wonderful add to my recipe box. All I did different was add 2 diced peppers- always trying to sneak in extra veggies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inskydiamonds
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was a delicious recipe. I served it over curried sweet potatoes. The flavors of the two dishes melded together wonderfully. The only change I made was that instead of the sweet chili sauce, I used garlic chili sauce (and much less of it). The meal was great the first day, but even better as leftovers as the flavors had more time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Spicy, hot & delish. Mostly followed the ingredients but changed up some measurements. Used 1 lb. 99% fat-free ground turkey breasts; 10 oz. diced tomatoes w/ habanero peppers (only use habanero option if you want to spike the heat); lite coconut milk. Eliminated the sesame oil and sautéed turkey, onion & garlic in Better Than Bouillon, Chicken Base. These changes eliminated some fat making it an even healthier version, and it’s still great tasting. The recipe as written seems to have more turkey than necessary so you may want to decrease the amount or, if using the 2 lbs., at least up the garbanzo beans as others have suggested. Thank you Marcia for a fantastic recipe! UPDATE: This has become a repeat winner for us. I now add 1 cup of jumbo mixed raisins when stirring in the garbanzo beans. If you prefer firmer raisins, add during last 5 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
May have been because I used madras curry, but I didn't care for this recipe. Also it was too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious. I forgot to use the garlic and it didn't matter. I also left the turkey out. This dish tastes amazing and is so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is so delicious. I have been searching for a beautiful saucey curry dish like this to make at home. My husband and I love these flavors and I am so pleased with how it turned out. I served over jasmine rice and I used the remaining coconut milk in the rice...great combo!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a keeper! Yummm...makes my mouth hum. I followed other's tips. Made my own 1/2 c sweet chili sauce (ketchup, honey & Sriracha); used 2 cans garbanzo (1 might have been fine) and 1 cup lite coconut milk. Did it all in my electric skillet. Put over rice. Fast, delicious, one-of-a-kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States