Sweet and Spicy Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious! Tweaked it by swapping white sugar for cane sugar and macadamian oil for olive oil, and reduced the cayenne to 1/2t. Oh, we also did a combination of cashews and almonds! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was fantastic! My only suggestions would be to drain the extra liquid before adding the sugar mixture (to avoid clumps of sugar) and to stir occasionally while cooling to keep the almonds from becoming a solid mass. It was quite sticky and wet at first so I stuck it in the oven at 250 for a while, but in the end it was still wet and sticky until it had cooled. The oven probably wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very easy and tasty. I accidentally did a tablespoon of cayenne ... Oops! Still good but will do less next time. Perfect for holiday parties and cubicle snacking. I added roasted soy beans because I didn't know what else to do with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome, used a bit more cayenne. Spicy & Sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Super easy to make, and an outstanding treat to share (if they stay around long enough)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made one batch and then went back and made 2 more. Very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Might be good with cinnamon but way too spicy for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Loved the flavor (I added a dash of cinnamon to the cayenne, salt, and sugar mixture) but hated the sticky/gooey mess that resulted at the end. They made a complete mess of your fingers and as a result were not fun to eat. Will maybe try again by spraying the almonds with cooking spray, then coating them with the sugar, salt, cayenne, and cinnamon mixture then baking them. As the recipe is written, however, I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a big hit with my guests. Will definitely make them again - and try other kinds of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Just made these as a Christmas gift for a Korean guy at work who loves the habanero bbq spiced almonds you can buy at the grocery store. I doubled the cayenne (the man eats jalepenos on his sandwiches) and accidentally used 2 tsp of salt rather than the 11/2 called for. After they cooled, I sampled a few and couldn't stop. Let's just say that it's a good thing I bought a big bag of almonds at Sam's! They are wonderful, I considered trying Chipotle Chili powder for the cayenne as a change, but why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States