Sweet and Spicy Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made several different nut recipes today, and this is the one I can't stop eating. The only change I made was to use Splenda instead of sugar. This is so good!!! It's just slightly sweet and slightly spicy, which is a refreshing change from most recipes for nuts that are incredibly sweet or way too spicy -- plus, it's an interesting taste to have both in one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Simple Recipe. I made a few changes for what I had on hand. I toasted the almonds on the stove for about 5 mins (watch them carefully. I halved the recipe. I used honey instead of the sugar- so they stayed a little sticky- that shouldn't be a problem if you use the sugar. The coating made just the right amount for the almonds. Not too sweet and the pepper adds just a touch of heat. I'll probably put in more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I just finished this Great recipe, made as directed. Yum! Very addictive, keep "tasting" while they are cooling. So far it seems the sugar will stay on nicely when I jar them. Others I made a lot of sugar mix was at the bottom of the jar. I think the honey makes it stick well. I tried a few with some cinnamon they were super as well. Will add the cinnamon for the holidays. Recommend! UPD: sugar stayed on & didn't end up in the bottom of my jar....a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made one batch and then went back and made 2 more. Very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made these last night for the first time and they are great! I followed the instructions exactly and they were very easy to make. After tossing the almonds in the liquid, I used a slotted spoon to move them to the spice mixture. There was some extra liquid left in the pan, and I didn't want to dump all that into the spices. These really are addictive! I think they may steal the show at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Love these - very addicting. I had tons of nuts and seeds that I wanted to use up (brazil nuts, almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, pecans) so I added them all. You can definitely make these with any nuts/seeds and it's delicious. Next time I may add a smidge more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was fantastic! My only suggestions would be to drain the extra liquid before adding the sugar mixture (to avoid clumps of sugar) and to stir occasionally while cooling to keep the almonds from becoming a solid mass. It was quite sticky and wet at first so I stuck it in the oven at 250 for a while, but in the end it was still wet and sticky until it had cooled. The oven probably wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was easy and fantastic. Although i did find the sugar/salt/spices mixture to be a bit much so i gradually added it in and ended up using half of what the recipe called for. I also added a bit of cinnamon and some ground tamarind for an extra tang. for the liquid mixture i added maple syrup instead of honey. it really added a lil extra magic to the entire recipe! Delicious!! i'm eating them right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious! Tweaked it by swapping white sugar for cane sugar and macadamian oil for olive oil, and reduced the cayenne to 1/2t. Oh, we also did a combination of cashews and almonds! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Might be good with cinnamon but way too spicy for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States