Sweet and Sour Zucchini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Had to do a side dish for a gathering of friends and was not too sure how this would go down. Used the main recipe but substituted a few items, canola for the vegetable oil, ranch dressing for onion soup mix, red wine vinegar for the white, a combo of yellow and red bell peppers, no green, added snap peas, scallions and a few slices of onions medium chopped. Many complements and only one serving was left. One of the friends who already had 2 servings with the meal took it home with her and asked for the recipe. Very different way to serve vegetables and definitely will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I wish I would've discovered this recipe years ago - it's a delicious salad that's easy to put together. Even though I like zucchini I was dubious I'd like a salad of raw zucchini, so I was pleasantly surprised at how good this dish is. The rest of my family liked it too, though I practically had to threaten them to get them to try it. This would make a great potluck vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really refreshing and yummy! I used rice vinegar mixed with red wine vinegar in place of the white wine vinegar and did not add the extra cider vinegar. It was just the right amount. I used a ranch dressing mix instead of the onion soup mix, as it was what I had on hand. I also added apples, a couple of green onions and a handful of sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
AWESOME!! Going to add some sharp cheese to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a keeper recipe for sure! I added dry ramen noodles broken up in it. Let them soak up some of the liquid before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Loved this recipe! My husband hates zucchini, but took seconds. I used a yellow bell pepper instead of green since it's a little sweeter, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is my go to recipe when zucchini is in season, but after adopting a healthier lifestyle I made a few switches to reduce the fat and calories. I used 1/2c of fat-free Italian dressing instead of the oil, cider vinegar, salt and pepper. Replaced the sugar with no calorie sweetener and used a whole red bell pepper. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wonderful side dish!! I made the homemade dry oniion soup mix from this site instead of the packaged kind, sliced the zucchini into bite size pieces and used a red bell pepper as that is what I had on hand. I let this sit in the fridge overnight, occasionally stirring ( and tasting...yum ). Everyone loved this and there were no leftovers. Thank you for sharing a delicious different way to use zucchini, CHRISTYJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
10-17-11: This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I really loved the flavor of this. As others have noted, it is a lot of dressing, so I was able to add other vegetables later. Instead of green pepper, I used yellow and red ones. Instead of celery, I used asparagus. My only real reason for giving it a 4 instead of a 5 is the appearance. It looks fine when first prepared. But after sitting in fridge, the onion soup mix/dressing kind of coagulates, causing the bits of onion to stick to the side of the bowl, and look like things growing on the vegetables. But if you can get past this, it really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States