Sweet and Sour Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
my Dad hates veggies, but after trying this he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Made this for a family picnic, when I had FAR too many cucumbers to ever use! Everyone in attendance asked for the recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
When I first made this, I made as directed and we all loved it! The second time I used Splenda instead of sugar, which I am sure reduced the calories. You could not tell the difference. I make this every 2 weeks so I will have plenty of leftovers for a cool lunch. Very nice flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Easy, quickly prepared, and enthusiastically received. The overnight marinating is essential. This is one of our favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Excellent! Got rave reviews at a bridal shower I attended and several people asked for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I liked it the first day, but thought it was too strong the next. My husband thought it was great and ate it for the next three days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLEY CAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Too sweet, but good. If I make it again, I'll cut way back on the sugar. Great way to get my family to eat their raw veggies, though. Like another reviewer said, better on the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Really tasty! Made it last summer for a family get-together (in-laws') and it went over very well. Added carrot slices and mushrooms - would not recommened the mushrooms as they get kind of slimy. Might add broccoli and cauliflower the next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was OK. I felt there was too much liquid and it was a little too sour for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I made this with Splenda, and we enjoyed this recipe very much. The one thing that doesn't make sense to me is layering the vegetables. You layer, pour the dressing over the top, and then let it sit overnight for the veggies to soak up the dressing. Only problem is that all of the dressing is on the bottom. You can't serve it layered (if the intent is for presentation), you have to mix it up, so why not just mix all veggies at the outset, stir every now and then, so ALL can marinate? Don't know why the recipe is written this way, but that's the way I'll do it the next time. On the positive side, it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States