Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
We have a full kitchen at work and twice a week I make something in the crock pot. I double this recipe and use the full recipe for Wow sweet and sour sauce with the addition of a tbs of Thai sweet chili sauce and a can of pineapple chunks. I brown the sausage, chop the vegetables and toss it in a 6 at crock on low for 4 hrs and serve wit a side of pasta and rice so people can have their choice. It gets destroyed every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuck prahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann-Marie Thruel Moran
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very tasty recipe I will be having this again. I added more sweet and sour sauce and served it with rice. My husband and daughter really loved it. No left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Gotta love a recipe that is quick and easy yet everyone cleans their plates! I know the recipe states this takes 50 min. to make but I know it did not take me that long. I sauteed the onions and peppers first, then added the sliced sausage without cooking it separately first. That seems unnecessary to me. I added a little more sweet & sour to have a sauce for rice. I did add pineapple at the end but I liked it better without, like the original recipe. The kids loved the sweet pineapple though! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I have made this a couple of times! My whole family loves it! I don't add the pepper, because I have kids that don't do spice! I do add about 8oz of sweet and sour sauce but I also add extra sausage, I don't like green bell pepper so I use red, orange, and yellow! I've even used the left over on sandwiches for my husband the next day! (French rolls)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Just follow the recipe and everyone will enjoy this, the only thing I done different was I used a whole bottle of sweet & sour sauce and added an extra pepper, served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Did what another suggested for homemade sweet and sour sauce: Combine 1/3 c. rice vinegar, 4 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 Tbsp ketchup, and 1 tsp soy sauce in small saucepan and bring to boil. Mix 2 tsp cornstarch with 4 teaspoons water and stir into boiling sauce mixture to thicken. Makes 1/2 cup sauce we added pinapple chunks twards the end of the veggies simmering alone. Its so good and i like the smoky flavor the sausage gives it. served it on a bed of steamed rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I've tried the recipe twice already - once straight "from the stabble yard cat" and another with a twist. They both came out alright, although I must say that I prefer it the original fashion; the problem being those who've tasted them both and voted for my version -go figure! Anyway, pretty good all in all. As for the twist, I added crumbles of "alheira" - a Portuguese smoked sausage - in the end and used my own, home made, Chinese plump sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rovervol
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I don't think I would have even tasted 2 Tablespoons of sweet and sour sauce; I added the entire 10oz jar and it came out perfect for me. I didn't add any hot spice because I used a cajun-spiced smoked sausage. Really easy to make. Just my style of cooking. I disagree with this fat content rating. Is it the sweet and sour? Other similar recipes here using smoked sausage have less than half the fat of this. As an aside, I took a taste of this before adding the s&s - delicious on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This turned out really yummy! I did do a few things different though. 1. I left out the butter. 2. I added more sweet and sour sauce then the recipe called for. I used a 10 oz jar of La Choy. 3. I added a can of drained pineapple. 4. I put it all in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. The sauce was a bit on the thin side so I ladled some of it into a measuring cup and then whisked in 5 tablespoons of flour. I then added the thickened sauce back to the crock pot. I served this with instant brown rice and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTALRAINSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My family loved this! Instead of purchased sweet and sour sauce, I cooked my own using a recipe from this website. I added additional bell pepper and onion and it still wasn't enough. In addition, I added a large can of pineapple tidbits. Served it over rice...delicious! (Don't be afraid to add other veggies-I wished I had had carrots.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States